We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,727)
Filter reviews
4,727 results
Traveller rating
1,885
1,717
607
298
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,885
1,717
607
298
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages garden cottage tower room pineapple water royal scoop ocean view black rock our honeymoon whalers village main tower hula dancer breakfast buffet free trolley beach bar welcome home kaanapali beach beautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 4,727 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was on the 11th floor facing south. Absolutely gorgeous.

The front desk and valet service were excellent, helpful, and timely.

The food at the restaurant was highly disappointing, very bland. But the drinks were great.

Room Tip: The best view is a room higher up facing south. The view of the mountain, Lahaina, and the ocean are gorgeous.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Galt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your room and found it to be absolutely gorgeous. We love that the staff from the front desk to the valet show the true spirit of aloha and was excellent. We are sorry to see the restaurant was highly disappointing, we will be sure to share this valuable feedback with our team as we want our guest to not only enjoy their drinks but the food as well. We hope to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!



Warmest aloha,
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We made reservations through Expedia for my 92 year old father. Requesting a handicap room. We found the inn had no elevators much less a handicap room. Expedia wanted over $600 to correct the problem. When we explaining to Karry what had happened she corrected the problem and found a room for our father at no extra cost and at the last minute. Thank you so much Karry and Steve. Big hugs. Where do we send the flowers. Thanks again. Can't wait to return. No more Expedia.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are so happy to see that Karry and Steve were able to save the day. We are very lucky to have them on our team and we love that they made the situation right for you and your father. We would love to welcome you again for another wonderful stay.


Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food. Friendly staff. The food was excellent. I especially liked eating at the bar and taking in the beautiful ocean view. The servers and bartenders made sure it was an enjoyable and fun atmosphere. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. (If you can make sure you request an ocean view in the tower.) More important: the room was QUIET.

I also went to their nightly luau on my second night there. Wonderful entertainment and the food was awesome!

I know there are alot of choices on the island but if I'm luckiy enough to go back some day I'll happily make a return stay at the Royal Lahaina!

Room Tip: If you want a true "ocean view" make sure you ask for a room in the "tower." I was on the 9th floor. Perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted to see you had a wonderful experience with us. We love that you felt the true spirit of aloha while being with us and that you had a quiet stay. We are glad you were able to enjoy our luau with the yummy food and wonderful entertainment. We would love to welcome you again for another wonderful experience.

Warmest Aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been coming to RLR for 10 years and have always loved it. Unfortunately, things need refreshing as they have started to show wear and tear and are starting to feel dilapidated. On our latest visit, there were several rowdy and lewd groups of people with excessive drinking and smoking that made this once family friendly resort feel like a College Campus (leaving their trash everywhere, etc..). I had to call the front desk THREE nights in a row due to smoking guests in nearby rooms. We really love RLR and want to come back but this experience has us questioning that now. One aspect that has remained consistent is the response of the staff, their professionalism and willingness to assist in any way possible to correct matters. Sadly, some things are just out of their control.

Room Tip: As k for a higher floor in the tower for a quieter night/morning.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank depechian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort and for your loyalty to our property. We are so sorry to read of the events that transpired during your last stay with us, we as you noted try our very best to ensure our guests are having the very best stay with us sadly there are those that things that are hard for us to control. We are 100% non-smoking and we do take this very serious and will charge guests that violate this rule. We would love to welcome you again for the 10th visit. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!


Warmest aloha,
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment that we checked in the staff was there to help, I had a mobility scooter that needed to be unloaded from the car and while I could take it out and put together the valets wouldnt let me load or unload it or the second one we rented. Room service was prompt and food was hot. The room was typical hotel but balcony had a great view of th ocean and beach and overlooked the area for weddings and the laua. The general store was stocked fairly well with things you might need a bit pricy but normal. My only negative was the woman who books the laua was a bit rude and defensive. Went somewhere else to book the laua.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review and five star rating of our resort. We love that you felt the true spirit of aloha from our staff and that they made your stay even better. We are very sorry to read of your interaction with our luau desk and we will be sure to review this with our team to ensure this is an isolated incident. We would love to welcome you again for a great stay with us.

Warmest Aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews