We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service. Awesome view.”

Mala - Ocean Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Mala - Ocean Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 292 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kapunakea
Description: In 2004 Mark and Judy opened Mala Ocean Tavern, along with their daughters, Ariana and Michelle, a small oceanside tavern serving Mediterranean and Pacific Rim, with some Latino flavored dishes. With their partner Shep Gordon, Mala Wailea was created for the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort, which opened in 2008 and sold in 2016.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Been there 5 times, always top notch. Very casual, but food and service has always been exceptional. Recommend the seafood pasta...mussels, shrimp, fish of the day and scallops! The watermelon and Maui onion salad was great, and the baked fruit, dark chocolate and Mac nut ice cream was good for two.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Virg U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

What a great place! The service was attentive but never obtrusive, and the food was delicious and creatively prepared and presented. The atmosphere was just what we love - on the water, simple, but high quality in every way. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Stopped in early afternoon after a very disappointing whale watching trip. We were greeted by a hostess that looked at us as we were just looking around. After being seated and brought the menu by a very nice young man extremely knowledgeable about the menu and the specials, we ordered a drink as we looked over the menu. Not very extensive and to us not to exciting. Watched several couples enter look at menu and walk out.
My suggestion before going is to bring up the menu on their web site, that way you won't be disappointed.
We both got flat bread dishes that were good and we were pleased with those.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Bruschetta, fresh salad, and seafood pasta were all good! An appetizer guacamole was like Japanese “Zunda” was not bad with spicy salsa sauce.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mamegao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We had dinner with another couple and were seated outside with an amazing view. The appetizer was delicious (some sort of edamame paste with a salsa and chips) as was the rest of the meal. I would go back again!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank motioneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mala - Ocean Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mala - Ocean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing