We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$759
TripadvisorUS$759
Hotels.com
ExpediaUS$759
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,426)
Filter reviews
6,426 results
Traveller rating
2,688
1,879
938
538
383
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,688
1,879
938
538
383
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach tower whalers village adult pool black swan ocean view self parking breakfast buffet our honeymoon hula grill koi fish abc store free shuttle four seasons pool chairs beautiful resort pineapple king bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 6,426 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I read the reviews prior to our visit so I did not expect any special perks with my Lifetime Titanium status. No late check out. Had to pay for another night so we could shower before our 9pm flight home. Splurged on the Hokupa'a Tower and took full advantage of the Lanai. Breakfast bites, full bar, food service, plunge pool. We hung out here alot after getting some sun. Staff everywhere is lovely and welcoming. Good wifi throughout resort. ($40 daily resort fees helps to pay for this). Parking is $45 a night for valet and $35 with self park. We had no problem finding seats at adult pool. Rented casabella a few times and the covering was no good after 1pm due to afternoon sun location. Pool/Beach Staff made lots of laps to get you drinks or food. Starbucks line was long every day but we got our iced/hot coffee in the Lanai. Every meal we had on property was fantastic. Resort is next to Whalers Village that had plenty of shops and other restaurants. You MUST make reservations if you can so to avoid long waits. Not just at WV but on the whole island. I would give this a 5 rating but the room/food prices were obscenely high. Complimentary (see resort fee) plastic water bottle is provided. Lots of water stations around resort for fill up. Bring your own insulated water bottle so your water stays cold. Enjoy this gorgeous property!

Room tip: We were on whalers village side of hokupa'a tower. Beautiful views
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha LKLY,

Mahalo for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member and for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali. Everything we do is designed to provide a revitalizing experience for our guests, and it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

With Warmest Aloha,
Kevin Hancock
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice resort, but don't expect anything for your Bonvoy status as others have stated. I am Titanium status.

Breakfast- Nope. $15 credit at one restaurant where they forgot to give me the credit.
Upgrade- Nope. Only if I pay $320 more/night. What's the point of elite status?
Free parking- Nope. Self park is $35 day.
Resort fees- Yep. You'll pay $40 even as an elite.

Not the staff's fault, but no effort to treat elite's more than the rest of society on this property.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TylerP962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha TylerP962,

First and foremost, mahalo for your loyalty to our hotels and for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member. We apologize that we did not acknowledge your member status. We sincerely value your business, and we always want each of our guests to have an exceptional stay. We appreciate the feedback as we are continually striving to improve our guest experience. Mahalo for your time; we regret disappointing you and hope to make it up to you in the future.

With Warmest Aloha,
Kevin Hancock
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the Westin Maui in mid-August and unlike some other recent reviewers, had a terrific experience.

We were in a Hokupa’a Luxury Suite which was spacious and had great views - they did a nice job with the renovations (had stayed at the Westin Maui previously prior to the renovations). The Lanai Lounge was also impressive.

We had no problems with check-in (no wait even though we arrived in the middle of the afternoon) or checkout (short wait). Gigi our housekeeper was friendly and responsive (was very easy to communicate requests via the Bonvoy app).

Not sure if it was a recent change but the Starbucks is now open until 5:30pm. We stopped by a couple of times in the early afternoon and it was basically empty and we were able to get our coffee drinks quickly.

With regards to pool chairs, there seemed to be chairs available throughout the day (we noticed this from our room as we had a view of the pool). It may not be right by the pool or with an umbrella but if you wanted a chair, you could find one.

There was also a Bonvoy Elite Appreciation Cocktail Hour (we are Platinum Elite) while we were there which was a nice touch. We completely understand that some benefits for Bonvoy Elite members may be limited given the current situation

The only negative we had was not so much with the hotel but with the guests. Although masks are required in all indoor public spaces, it seemed that more than half the people we encountered in the hallways or in the elevators did not wear masks. This gave us some discomfort throughout our stay.

Overall though, given the amount of customers (Kaanapali was more crowded than we have ever seen) and the current environment, the Westin Maui proved to be a good choice for us and we will not hesitate to return again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank andrewPL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha andrewPL99,

Mahalo for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member and for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali. Everything we do is designed to provide a revitalizing experience for our guests, and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Please know we are diligently navigating through COVID-19, and your valuable insight is much appreciated as to how we can enhance our precautions and improve our guests' experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Maui.

With Warmest Aloha,
Kevin Hancock
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unorganized check-in, one of our rooms was not ready and when it finally was a family of four was put in a room with one king bed. Hotel would not make it right other than to put a twin roll away bed in the room. Rooms were small and very basic and you have to pay extra for almost everything. Their advertisements say they have several restaurants but they don't. Starbucks closes at 11:30 am and the grab and go market is no bigger than a kitchen and has a limited menu. The outdoor bar and Waicoco are very expensive and good luck getting in to Waicoco anyway. The concierge was awful - he gave us a map of the island and brochures on how to rack up more points at Marriott and for their timeshare on Maui. You even have to pay to rent the lounges to sit on the beach or to snorkel. If you are lucky enough to find an open lounge chair by the pool, don't expect to be able to use the umbrella if the wind is blowing. Hotel staff will not allow it. We won't stay here again. It's definitely not up to Westin's standards. Next time we go to Maui, it's back to the Fairmont Kea Lani for us.

Room tip: Rooms are small and very basic
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jpartain61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha jpartain61,

Mahalo for reviewing our resort. We strive to provide a refreshing, enhanced stay to every guest, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting these expectations and for any inconvenience caused during your time with us. We are continually striving to improve our guest experience, and we are grateful for the feedback that helps us with these goals. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the enriching stay you should always expect from us.

With Warmest Aloha,
Kevin Hancock
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a good 9th floor room in the old tower. The pools are very good and there are slides for the kids. I will make allowances for the fact that post-COVID they cannot find enough staff (not their fault). The pros are the great location on the real Kaanapali beach and the pools are excellent, convenient to Whaler's Village. Cons are they don't have poor choices for restaurants and no stores on property. The issues are a separate $40/day mandatory fee listed as a "resort fee" (which gives you nothing, its just a way to make the advertised price look better) and $35/day for self-parking. I would not return to this property for one reason: they do not acknowledge or reward Elite Bonvoy members...no more free breakfast or parking...nothing. They don't need to because the place is booked. They don't realize we book Marriott properties because of the perks.

Room tip: Get an ocean or partial ocean view.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DaveTexas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha DaveTexas70,

Mahalo for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy member and for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. While we are glad you enjoyed your overall time with us, it is disappointing to learn about your stay as our focus is on giving each guest an optimal and seamless visit. We have shared your concerns with our associates as we are continually striving to strengthen our guest experience. On your next visit to the area, we hope to have an opportunity to provide you with the enriching hospitality for which we are known.

With Warmest Aloha,
Kevin Hancock
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews