We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
766
379
86
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
379
86
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kaanapali beach black rock shopping carts hula grill tower facing ocean view full kitchen underground parking abc store koi pond premium room pineapple studio condo through vrbo construction noise bath unit north side
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our 5th trip to Maui and 2nd stay at The Whaler. This time we went for it and rented unit 1101 oceanside. It was beyond amazing!!! When we pulled in the driveway with all our bags and groceries someone came out and helped us with all our stuff. We were checked in quickly and went right to our room. We rented the condo through Maui Resort Realty and got great service from them.

The unit itself seemed to just float above the ocean. The view was beyond amazing. And the walls were lined with mirrors so no matter where you looked you had an ocean view. The unit itself is immaculate with a brand new kitchen and bathrooms. This was a unique vacation in that we spent more time than usual in the unit because it was so enjoyable to be there.

Before we left my husband said that when we go back to Maui he wants to rent the same exact unit. And I agree.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chefola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Whaler in May 2014. It was absolutely wonderful !! Perfect location.
We had a gorgeous condo in the Tower away from Whaler Village and not facing the center courtyard.
Our condo was, therefore, very quiet and the balcony was private.
From our balcony we could see a view of the ocean one way and a view of the golf course/mountain the other way !! Cute little birds visited us every morning (after breakfast)
on our balcony !
I believe we were on the 3rd floor. Every condo is decorated individually and ours was very tastefully done and updated.
The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed feeding the fish in the pond every morning .
The staff was wonderful !
They were so friendly and helpful. They were genuinely happy to have us staying as their guests.
Just by writing this review, makes me want to revisit Maui and stay at the Whaler Condos again !

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StellaMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When deciding on a place to stay on Maui we were unsure about a condo resort... until we checked in at the Whaler. From the moment we arrived, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and really helpful in booking our excursions. Our room was beautiful and we saved money on breakfast etc. by cooking in the room and grilling on the property. Right next to Whaler's Village, our options were plentiful for dinner and drinks. I shed a few tears saying goodbye to this incredible resort.

Date of stay: July 2014
3  Thank jeter928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We are a couple in our mid 30's and just finished a 6 night stay at this hotel. It's a fantastic location, literally next door to anywhere you would want to go (Whaler Village - 60 boutique shops numerous food outlets and 3 great restaurants / bars). Also we snorkelled with sea turtles every day about 200m walk from the hotel (opposite direction from Whaler Village at Black Rock).

We researched for days and days over where to stay in Maui. The internet site and pictures really don't do this place justice.

Condo was a great size, bed was very comfortable, and it had everything you need for a great stay. Views from our 'Partial Ocean view' room were spectacular.

Activities desk and concierge were all fantastic and super helpful - thank you.

If you aren't sure where to stay, you won't regret this place at all, guarantee it. Looking forward to returning here hopefully next year. Thanks for a great experience.

Room tip: Any room that has any view of the ocean at all will be a great room. Would just ask for a room that isn't near the Whaler Village as it could be potentially a bit noisy.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Renno1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just got home from a seven day stay at the Whaler. This was my seventh visit to Maui, and all of my previous stays have been at hotels, mostly at the Sheraton. Kaanapali Beach is my favorite place to be, and there is enough in this area that you can go straight to your hotel or condo and not drive again until you depart. This vacation was to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday and graduation so we wanted a comfortable trip and decided on the two-bedroom, two bath condo at the Whaler, due to the ideal location. The unit was absolutely perfect. We had more room than we needed for a family of four. The condo was modern and beautifully appointed, had all of the amenities we could need, and we felt at home. The ocean-front unit is the way to go...the views were spectacular! The Whaler staff were friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the beach activities. The beach is directly in front of the buildings and it was so convenient to spend the entire day out there since we could run up to the room at any time. We rented cabanas on the beach from the activities booth, well worth the price to avoid sunburn. We were also just a short walk down the beach to excellent snorkeling at Black Rock in front of the Sheraton. Usually a condo stay means you are on your own for laundry and housekeeping, but at the Whaler we had the luxury of daily maid service with the condo conveniences. If you are beach lovers like we are, clean towels daily are appreciated! Every detail of our week-long stay was perfect. We are already looking forward to our next vacation there. But the next trip will definitely be longer than just a week. Mahalo to the Whaler staff!

Room tip: If you can afford the extra cost, book an ocean-front unit. The views from the lanai are amazing.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank winecountry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews