We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
213
128
37
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
128
37
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ohana room cinnamon bread coffee and juice continental breakfast fresh fruit beautiful napili bay coastal trail there is no air conditioning house restaurant kitchen facilities literally steps beach chairs small pool the ground floor cross breeze full kitchen first floor
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

All in all the rooms in the mauian were nice and spacious and you have a good kitchen area to prepare the food. The hotel grounds look really beautiful and well looked after. The sunsets are also great from the nice beach in front of the mauian. Unfortunately there were a lot of cockroaches in our Kitchenarea, what made our stay less agreeable than we actually thought for this expensive accommodation. We understand that in a humid area, that it is difficult to maintain zero cockroaches. But for the paid price i would expect more. Also we find it somehow special for a hotel that the beds weren’t made daily, but left like they were. For the paid price there was too little value in our opinion...

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SolidSnakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
119nanea, General Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

We are constantly treating our units for the cockroach issues. With the humid weather we have had recently, it seems the bug issue has intensified and we have increased our pest control to combat this. We have also step up our pest control monitoring program to stay ahead of the bugs. We have limited daily housekeeping and advise our guests that if they desire daily full housekeeping it will be provided. We apologize for the inconveniences these guest experienced. We are addressing them and continuing our efforts to meet and surpass our guests expectations.

Nane Aluli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our final night in Maui, it was the most expensive out of the 4 hotels we stayed in but unfortunately it was the worst one. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is a great place to watch the sunset and staff are friendly. However, the room had a strong smell of urine and I needed to request air freshener to disguise the smell and there was also a large stain on the bedsheets.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
119nanea, General Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Aloha Laura:
I am so sorry your stay at the Mauian was not a good experience. We did a thorough check and cleaning of the room you were in to make sure there was not a plumbing problem that might be causing the urine smell. We have also impressed on our housekeeping staff how important it is to make sure our housekeeping standards are strictly adhered to. We fell short of the kind of cleanliness and attention to detail we have provided to our guests. We are very disappointed we did not meet your expectations and it is our goal to refocus on the need to pay attention to details.


Nane W. Aluli

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Sadly we were only able to stay for one evening as a stop-over point, but would definitely return! The property is quaint, has excellent staff and great little perks such as morning breakfast! Due to flight delays, we arrived after the front desk was closed, but arrangements were perfectly made to have our room and check-in ready.

The room was comfortable with an awesome tempur-pedic mattress, great kitchen and spacious bathroom. Definitely would love to stay longer and use the kitchen facilities. We loved the open windows to feel the ocean breeze.

Oh- and the location is spectacular! The Napili Bay is stunning! The property landscaping is gorgeous as well. Beautiful place to walk around.

Room Tip: any room would be a good choice- even if you don't have an ocean view, it's a 20 second walk to the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We ended up at the Mauian for a company President’s Club weekend and loved it! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the welcome basket was a nice touch. We loved the lush, tropical landscaping and the “hidden garden” feel of being tucked away in a secluded paradise, yet close to everything. The beach was a short walk from our room (#118) and opened onto the most beautiful spot on Napili Bay. Complimentary beach towels in the room and chairs on the beach made water time easy with minimal extra packing or planning. (The locations is also great because there’s a beach gear rental company, 808 Rentals, next door.) We spent most of our time on Maui exploring the island so this hotel was a perfect spot to use as a gorgeous, peaceful retreat at the end of each day. We loved the kitchenette and the convenience (and economy) or being able to grab groceries, prepare food for the day and save on eating out all the time. The on-sight BBQ grill and cabana area by the pool made for easy grilled dinners at sunset with friends. The free continental breakfast was ok: fruit, breads, bagels, etc.—average for hotel food, but free so it was nice. (We did splurge one morning and walk down the beach to the Gazebo restaurant for their infamous white chocolate macadamia nut pancakes—yum! They were so good and a convenient walk.) Some of the co-workers in our group were next door at a larger, more traditional hotel with more people, evening events, TVs in rooms and the hustle/bustle of crowds, but we preferred the relaxed atmosphere and beautiful surroundings at The Mauian where we could really unplug and feel like we were on vacation. The only thing we would change would be to have a larger parking lot since parking is very limited, but we were still able to park our rental car each night. Overall, we had a great stay and recommend The Mauian highly. We can’t wait to return!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank nikepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Overall I think this is a nice little hotel. the location is great, right on the beach and away from the big resorts and crowds further south.
The rooms are nice..maybe a little dated and could use a modern update but very clean and comfortable. As there is no AC the room smelled a bit moisty but was ok after leaving the windows/doors open for a bit.
There is a small kitchenette with all essentials if you feel like cooking.
The staff was very friendly and the grounds were beautifully cared for.
I had a room with a partial ocean view - which I thought was worth the extra money, you were right on the beach and also got a bit of the crosswinds (which was nice as it was very hot and humid). the beach is shared with (I think) 4 other small hotels and it never got too crowded. there is a surf shop right around the corner to rent all sorts of beach toys. also other great beaches are just a short drive away
the hotel has no own restaurants but offers breakfast in the morning and there are a few places to eat nearby.
Not sure if would stay here again - there are just so many other great areas in Maui to choose from but I can certainly recommend the hotel - especially if you want to stay away from the big resorts on Kāʻanapali Beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing south
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
119nanea, General Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Mahalo for your review of the Mauian Hotel. We appreciate the time you took to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are currently in the process of installing air conditioners in all of our rooms. We are continually trying to improve our guests experience and hopefully you will return to enjoy those efforts.

Aloha,
Nane W. Aluli
General Manager
The Mauian Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews