We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
65
82
41
18
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
82
41
18
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaleakala cratermaui onion soupupcountry mauistayed two nightspineappleelectric fireplacesunsetlandscapingpaiahana
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed here for just one night and it was ok but not fantastic.
We chose to stay here specifically because it was more convenient to Haleakela, which it was, but not enough for the relatively high price of the room.
We stayed in Lodge #3, as just a couple, so we didn't make any use of the loft upstairs. Lodge #3 was also right on the top parking lot and the parking lot of the marketplace, and attached to another room. The sound traveled very easily between the two rooms, which wasn't super comfortable. And the parking lots meant that even though the views were lovely, one couldn't get much privacy with the windows open.
The staff were polite and helpful if a bit oddball.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We wanted to go someplace in upcountry Maui for lunch. We drove to one restaurant which was closed then had to decided on another. Kula Lodge was the place. A great menu, terrific service and a magnificent view of South Maui.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank MauiTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I'm reviewing the restaurant, not the lodge as we haven't stayed there. The view from the restaurant is amazing, overlooking both sides of Maui from part way up Haleakala Volcano. They have a beautiful garden that one can walk through to admire the various unusual Hawaiian plants, as well as an art gallery and general store with local artifacts and foods. Their pineapple pork dish is very good, as well as their brick oven pizzas. It's a not-to-miss experience to dine there.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jillericson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Ordered lunch and after 20 minutes was told that half our table of six had to re-order off the dinner menu as the Chef would not serve lunch any longer. Then after a big upheaval and some of us not getting what we wanted, settled for a crummy pizza, Chef added a 3.5% tip to the bill for himself! Save your money, go elsewhere. Oh, and the place is old and smells like pee.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sally-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Good authentic place for spending the night. But not good heater in the room and freezing at night because it's 3 km above the sea. Comfortable beds include futon.
Restaurant with a panoramic view.
A food and gift store is next door.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews