We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$274
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$261
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
US$178
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
338
318
154
59
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
318
154
59
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa hilton honors memberhilton pointslydgate parkopen air lobbywailua baystate parkthe cottagesbeach matsbeach parkbreakfast buffethot tubclose to the airporteach eveningfree mai taifront desk staffmai taisfirst morning
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was decent overall. Upon checking in we were informed that we would pay $22 per day as a resort fee. This fee got us a cheap necklace, along with a few items which did not feel worthy of a resort fee. It felt like a scam and left a bad taste to start off the visit. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonAllen C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Sorry to hear the resort fee took away from your visit to Kauai. Below is a listing of the amenities provided with the resort fee. Your comments will help us work to provide a better guest experience. We look forward to improving your experience should you visit us again in the future. Mahalo.

Amenities Included With Resort Fee
- Aloha shell greeting on arrival.
- 2 daily Mai Tai or soft drinks vouchers.
- 2 for 1 golf, Ocean Course at Hokuala.
- Hawaiian cultural sunrise ceremony Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays.
Sign up the day before ceremony at the front desk. Meet in lobby 30 minutes prior to sunrise.
- 2 hour bicycle rental to enjoy the Ke Ala Hele Makelae coastal path.
- Use of cooler, towels, and beach mats. Available at the concierge desk.
- Use of Safety deposit box. Located at the front desk.
- Local calls and no access fees for toll-free & credit card calls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel a lot and without much ado this is one of the nicest hotels I´ve stayed at, certainly in Hawaii.

Free parking, excellent breakfast, very nice rooms, clean, staff is amazing and you get the Hawaiian athmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guest4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonAllen C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Your comments will help us work to provide a better guest experience. We look forward to improving your experience should you visit us again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (husband and I) recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Kapaa unexpectedly when my brother was admitted to the hospital in Kauai and we had to leave our cruise ship 2 days early. Everyone at the hotel was exceptionally nice and went out of our way to make our stay there as enjoyable as could be under the circumstances. I had no idea how long our stay (and my brother's hospital stay) would be, but they extended our stay and even gave us a late checkout so that we could rest comfortably there and not have to sit at the airport when it was time to leave. I would especially like to thank Jeanne at the front desk for her phone calls and reassurance that made it all work out so well for us. I can't thank you all enough there. It's a beautiful hotel, room was very clean, people extremely nice....and I'd definitely come stay there again, I hope under different circumstances though. Thank you all again for everything you did for us!!!! and my brother loved what he saw of it before we left to go home

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barblynn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonAllen C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Sorry to hear about your brother and we hope your family is doing ok. Your comments will help us work to provide a better guest experience. We look forward to improving your experience should you visit us again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for 6 days before going to a wedding in Princeville where stayed at the St Regis (very nice but 3x as much).

The Hilton is close to some great food options (The Local was our favorite, but even the Poke in Foodland was super) and a 30-40 minute stress free drive of many other attractions (Canyon, Napali Coast Boat Trip, Poipu Beach). Our room was nice, clean and large, we had some food and drinks which were exactly what they needed to be, and we found the staff generally helpful. A couple things to note, you need a car if you stay here. Parking can be a problem here (you may need park far from your room) and I don't think the local beach is much of a "swimmers beach" and we drove elsewhere to other beaches during our stay.

I would also say, if this is your big vacation, you might want to go to some of the other more beach focused islands in Hawaii or elsewhere. Even the beach at the St Regis, and some of the other beaches we visited were not very good for swimming.

We were looking for a nice relaxing time and to enjoy the beauty of this island without the typical tourist flourish and we achieved it here. The folks in the Hilton were very nice as was the overall vibe on the Island. My wife and I have been to many islands, and we can say this was really unlike any of them, in a very good way.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher room to avoid the rooster noise in the morning
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roamer_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonAllen C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Sorry to hear the beaches of Kauai did not meet all of your expectations. Ironically, Kauai has more sand beaches then any of the other islands. Your comments will help us work to provide a better guest experience. We look forward to improving your experience should you visit us again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were upgraded to a casita with a king bed, and it was truly amazing. The property is located right on a park adjacent to a public beach. The location is conveniently located close to the airport, but far enough away that there is no airplane sound whatsoever.

The rooms are very nice, as is the dining area. The breakfast (provided free with Diamond status) was excellent! Great juices and waffles!!

Room Tip: Choose a casita if possible!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonAllen C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Very please to hear we met your expectations and we appreciate you being a Diamond member. We look forward to improving your experience should you visit us again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews