We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
El Sueno Tropical(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leyenda(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Peace & Lodge(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esperanza(Playa Carrillo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Guanamar(Playa Carrillo)
永安旅遊
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laguna Mar(Playa San Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
795
182
42
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
182
42
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhorseback ridingzip liningcosta ricabeach clubour honeymoonmain restaurantsan josepura vidaswim up barhowler monkeysliberia airportcevichegolf courseara projectrainy seasonremote location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We booked an extended stay at the backend of our Backroads tour and cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed this hotel. While it can be an effort to reach the resort, we took advantage of local charter flights into the hotel's private airstrip which the hotel staff arranged for us - the kids loved the experience/views of CR to and from San Jose. This is a very unique hotel offering great cultural and eco-friendly adventures for the entire family. The beach club staff were awesome with incredible service. The beach/cove is very scenic and is really is one of the best places I have seen to teach kids to surf for the first time. Lot of wildlife and a visit to the ARA project (Scarlet Macaws) and local art museum are worth the time. It's great to see how the hotel supports the entire community. As frequent traveler to Marriott properties globally, this is the by far the friendliest staff I have encountered - Marvin does a incredible job meeting and attending to guest needs with the support of an incredible staff including Edgar, Gabriel, Antonio, and Diego. Well done. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Our biggest satisfaction comes from learning about our guests' marvelous experiences at Hotel Punta Islita and our surroundings. We always hope to be a gateway to Costa Rica's authentic adventures, culture, and hospitality. Thanks so much for selecting us and for taking the time to detail some of the unique experiences that you and your family encountered. Please do return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

What Can I say that others have not. First let me start by saying the thing that just blew me away were the people/staff, from Joe, Edgar and Marco on the service side to Marvin up top on arranging tours and trips to Christian the surfing instructor. The community and resort are really one heartbeat, when we went out to Don Ramiro in town (a must), we saw Joe and his family and then ran into Christian. When we went in early December it seemed like we had the resort to ourselves. All the drinks are scratch made at a reasonable price, the guides are great to do kayaking and zipling (Vielos was great). The Food was amazing, Octopus, fresh fish… todos los dias! The Views were just a bonus, everywhere all over the property and last who does not love the Macaws eating in the trees above where you are sun bathing on the beach! Pura Vida indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thanks for your colorful celebration of our Pura Vida concept. Hotel Punta Islita is all about connection. Connection to the land, the local community, and a special state of mind that brings out an appreciation of raw nature, heartfelt friendship, and adventure. Thanks so much for visiting, embracing your destination, and taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. Costa Rica is a an amazing destination and we are thrilled to showcase its wonders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I took my two adult children to the resort. We were warmly greeted by Christina. She was so kind and thoroughly educated us on all the amenities the resort had to offer. The dining area/pool is truly breathtaking. We were guided to our room, which had a private porch with hammock overlooking the forest canopy and ocean. Our room was clean with ample space.
The free amenities included a monkey tour, horseback riding, zip lining, and a night walk. All were really enjoyable and well organized.
We also booked a fishing tour with Islita Sport Fishing. It wasn’t what I envisioned (large boat, far out in the ocean to see whales and dolphins), but we had a great time. It’s a very small boat. It requires wading out into the ocean to board the boat. Make sure your bladder is empty before you get on board. We saw numerous turtles and caught 4 fish. The captain was very accommodating to our requests to view the turtles...and catch fish :). Fun day!
Both restaurants are pretty good. The kitchen staff prepared our fish catch for dinner. My only recommendation would be for staff to be a little quicker (seating, taking order, delivering food, and billing). Plan to spend 1.5-3 hours/meal.
All staff were so friendly and helpful. Again, a special thanks to Christina for making us feel #1 and making sure my daughter had a cake for her birthday. Much appreciated!!!!
The grounds are gorgeous! It’s nice to walk down to the beach and spot the macaws, monkeys, frogs, and insects along the way. The shuttle drivers are very prompt to give a ride back up the hill. They’ll also take you into town.
I’d go back to this resort in a heartbeat!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank RuthAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Sharing Costa Rica's authentic adventures and hospitality was a blast! Thanks so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita and taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Thrilled to learn that you took full advantage of our included experiences and third-party adventure options. We would love to be your hosts again in the blink of an eye!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Hotel Punta Islita, located on the southwestern tip of the Guanacosta Coastline, approx. 2.5 hours drive from Liberia, is an idyllic beach vacation. The hotel, which is really a series of villas, offers a litany of experiences at little to no cost above your room rate. Our family zip-lined, rode horses, practiced yoga, painted, made bread and ceviche, body surfed in a warm protected cove, hiked to see monkeys, iguanas, and birds all at no additional cost. We also kayaked the Ora river, and saw hundreds of sea turtles hatching on a beach only a few miles away for a small fee. The food, drinks and service was fabulous. We drank the water and ate fruits, vegetables, and salads without a hint of sickness.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is this is one of the few places I will visit again, to relax by the pools, drink mojitos, swim for hours in the ocean, and completely unwind. It is great for all ages, but be prepared to go up and down a lot of steps since the resort is built on a hillside. (Thus, not good for non-ambulatory people.)

Room Tip: Opt for a three bedroom villa, with plunge pool, outside hammock, two separate bedrooms, each with full bath, and a central family room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Yay! It was a pleasure to offer Costa Rica's best sights, hospitality, and adventures. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We offer all of our hotel-led adventures and experiences on a complimentary basis to let travelers fully connect with the destination. We are also happy to offer complimentary shuttle services connecting the hotel to the beach and our beach club. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Nice hotel, but difficult to reach. Beach not so nice. Great offers with included activities. Food not the best and pretty expensive. There is another local restaurant called Don Ramiro where we have one dinner. The food was in mini portions and we were still hungry after the "dinner". Extremely expensive for what Don Ramiro is offering. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks Mike! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our included activities. Please don't hesitate to contact me with further feedback that could help us improve our restaurant offerings. Our secluded location is what grants our non-touristy vibe and we are proud to showcase Costa Rica's authentic culture and hospitality. We are saddened to learn that your experience at a local restaurant (off-property) did not fulfill your expectations. We like to support local community micro-businesses and if you provide us with suggestions for them, we will gladly relay your comments. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews