We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveller rating
830
186
42
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
186
42
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolcosta ricazip lininghorseback ridingbeach clubmain restaurantsan josepura vidaswim up barhowler monkeysliberia airportcevichegolf courserainy seasonremote locationhour drivethe pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is a beautiful resort that exceed our expectations. Nice rooms, fantastic service, and plenty of activities (kayaking, horseback riding, golf, zip lining, hiking, cooking, painting, yoga, etc...) that are included in your room rate. The staff gets to know you by name and are extremely friendly. I consider it a beachfront hotel but there is a steep walk, down the mountain, to the beach. It is 10 minutes tops but you never leave the resort grounds, and it has beautiful views. Or they'll arrange a 2 minute shuttle ride. The only negative, I found, is that the food and spa services are a bit pricey. That being said we're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are built on the side of the mountain ask for a room near the adult pool. You'll be in the middle of everything.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Greetings Jeff! Sharing Costa Rica's signature eco-thrills, culture, and fun activities by including them in our guests' stay has been a huge success. It lets visitors fully embrace the destination to create outstanding experiences and memories. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I had very high expectations for this property given the amazing tripadvisor reviews, but unfortunately ended up disappointed with most aspects of the stay. I'd rate it 2.5 stars, but rounding up to 3 since the staff generally meant well but often fell short. However, this property is definitely NOT a luxury resort despite the room rates charged. First, the good:

- Great, remote location with amazing views from the main building and the restaurant
- Service in the restaurant was generally good
- Very good wine selection for such a remote location
- Beach was beautiful and great for swimming. Food and drinks on the beach were good and reasonably priced

Now, the issues:
- Room location: as a Marriott Platinum, received the worst room on the property, next to the parking lot. Was woken up daily by the hotel shuttle arriving and departing, and had zero view at all. We asked to move after the first night and were told the hotel was at capacity, though there were rooms for sale on the Marriott website.

- Room condition: Rooms are somewhat dated with dirty / stained tile floors and bathrooms right out of the 1980s. Realize that the hotel is in the jungle, but having hundreds of ants crawling on literally every flat surface was frankly disgusting. Water temperature was inconsistent, going from cold to scalding hot and back.

- Hotel restaurant food: Food was generally OK in the restaurant, though one night I was served severely undercooked chicken which is inexcusable. Preferred the food at the "local" restaurant in town. Breakfast, although included in the rate, was very limited and disappointing for a luxury property.

- Staff communication and service: Aside from the servers in the restaurant and on the beach (which were great), the staff were mostly friendly but completely disorganized. For example, our flight was delayed and we ended up missing an activity scheduled for the afternoon of our arrival. At check in, we asked to reschedule this to the next day, but the message never made it to the activities manager which resulted in us being shut out.(There generally aren't enough slots in the popular activities to accommodate demand.) We relayed our disappointment to the activities manager, who told us to "fill out the survey" when we checked out. Sorry, but filling out a survey does not fix the fact that we traveled 3000+ miles to get to the resort and ended up shut out of every activity we wanted to participate in (including trying to book some a week prior to arrival).

I can't recommend this property given the numerous shortfalls, all of which are unacceptable for a property charging luxury resort prices.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NYTraveler2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Our Limitless Costa Rica program, where we include a full menu of tours and activities in the stay has been very successful, letting visitors fully immerse in our country's thrilling eco-adventures and welcoming culture. Please do reach out, we would appreciate an opportunity to address the shortcomings you detail in hopes of ever improving the experience for all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This was our last stop on a month-long vacation to Costa Rica, and a perfect way to end our trip. Because we had already done a lot of tours to see the monkeys, birds, etc. in other locations we chose not to participate in the variety of included activities. We simply relaxed for 5 days - and it was a perfect spot to so do. We had a deluxe room - extremely comfortable bed, comfortable chairs outdoors, a great view of the ocean. There is also a wide variety of areas to sit and relax, either in the sun or the shade, both around the pool (the upper level pool is adults only; the one near the beach is family-friendly), or right at ocean-front.

We enjoyed watching the macaws in both locations. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We appreciated that when we were sitting and reading the staff frequently came by with cold water, and never pushed drinks on us. All of the staff were very accommodating and helpful. In particular, Sergio, Julio and Mauricio frequently served us. Although we rarely purchased alcoholic drinks, Johan at the bar was always very friendly, offering water regularly without being asked, and remembering our names as well. I particularly enjoyed being able to sit on the beach close enough to the ocean to read and relax, but still be out of the direct sun.

We would highly recommend this hotel, and hope to be able to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanniceE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Saludos Jannice and thanks so much for taking the time to write about your wonderful relaxation experience. Please do return soon so you can fully take advantage of our Limitless Costa Rica program, a full selection of included experiences like zip-lining, river kayaking, horseback riding on the beach, cultural activities, cooking lessons, and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

My wife and I spent 5 nights of our 3 week vacation at Hotel Punta Islita and would highly recommend it for couples. It is on the Nicoya peninsula in a relatively remote area, but thanks to recent road improvements it is easily accessible by 2 wheel drive (at least during the dry season). The resort is perched on a hillside and the property extends down to the beach. the views and the breeze are outstanding! This resort recently changed to include all activities without additional charge!

The one negative part of our stay was the check-in process. We were escorted to a lounge area and given a complimentary drink while our escort took our credit card, presumably to check us in. Twenty minutes later we were still waiting, and anxious to get settled in our room. After another few minutes I walked down the hallway and saw our escort who was busy on his phone. I asked if our room was ready and he said it had been for 10 minutes. All I would ask for is for some communication; and yes his English was pretty good.

Once checked in, the experience was amazing. The room was very quiet and had a nice view of the ocean. We ate every breakfast (included) and 3 dinners at the resort and all the meals were very good. The service was excellent, especially from Julio. The infinity pool and the views to the ocean are awesome, as is the beach area and the pool by the beach. This resort is not kid friendly (not allowed in upper pool and steep climb from rooms to dining area); but is perfect for couples. This resort is remote and quiet so if you are looking to party this is probably not the best place. Even at full occupancy you feel almost alone, thanks to the size of the property, its amenities and the various activities.

The activities are included in the room price which incents people to take advantage of them. We did the zip-line, sunset horseback ride, Kayaking, monkey hike and the Tico cooking lesson. All activities were great and our guides were excellent. In particular I remember Eduardo, Michael and Ada (the excellent chef who gave us the cooking lesson).

In summary we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Punta Islita. Loved the excellent service, the views, the activities, and seeing lots of scarlet macaws and monkeys.

Room Tip: The views really vary from room to room so you may want to preview you assigned room.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Gracias John! It was a pleasure to be your hosts, showcasing Costa Rica's thrills through our Limitless Costa Rica program, a full menu of included eco-adventures and cultural experiences. Our sincere apology for the check-in glitch, we are glad that everything went uphill from there. Our Private Villas are perfect for families with children. In addition to the beachside family pool, these offer spacious homelike amenities and a private plunge pool. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We were a group of six friends visiting Hotel Punta Islita in January - and we all enjoyed our trip! Yes, it is a bit of a hassle to get there, but the remote location is one of the things that really makes this place stand out and well worth a visit!

The hotel is spread out over a large property, or more like a small village, with a main building (with a good restaurant, bar and infinity pool), bungalows/hotel rooms, private villas, a spa, a beach club and a golf course. The gym was of a decent size and was well maintained for its age. Distances are walkable if you don't mind the hills. However, the staff will happily take you around the property in a car.

At Punta Islita you are surrounded by beautiful nature, animals and birds. The views are incredible. The hotel has a rich activity program, with a lot of experiences included in the hotel rate. This is definitely an advantage about staying here. And if you are not up for activities, you could just relax down at the beach or up at the pool.

I've stayed at other and more expensive hotels in the region (like the Four Seasons Papagayo, Andaz Papagayo and Mukul in Nicaragua). Although these hotels exceed Punta Islita in service and hard product, I really liked the location and the relaxed atmosphere around the hotel. With reasonable prices also on F&B, my conclusion is that Punta Islita is just as good and a more "affordable" option in the area. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tips: During the first part of our stay we stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. A perfect option for our group! The villa was a bit away from the main facilities, but we had a golf cart to move around. So the location was not a problem at all.

The last two nights, we were only two persons left. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a suite, which was the most popular room at the hotel according to the Front Desk. Although the upgrade was a nice gesture from the reservation agent, we were a quite bothered by loud traffic just outside the room. Some visitors would probably enjoy the private location and the extra space. My recommendation, however, would be to make sure you get a regular and quiet room away from the traffic noise, rather than paying extra for a suite.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

It was a pleasure to read your review! Sharing Hotel Punta Islita and its extensive list of included eco-adventures and cultural experiences with friends is fun, engaging, and memorable. Our 2-3 bedroom Private Villas offer a perfect value and a wonderful space with homelike amenities. Thanks for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews