We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls...”
Review of Circus World

Circus World
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Circus World in Baraboo is America's favorite circus attraction! Baraboo was home to The Ringling Bros. Circus from 1884 thru 1918, and during those thirty-four years the operation grew to become the largest circus enterprise the world has ever known. Although the Ringlings left in 1918, many of their original structures survived.During the summer months, Circus World comes to life with daily live shows and demonstrations. See the world’s largest collection of glorious parade wagons plus 7 authentic Ringling Bros. buildings filled with colorful, big top memories. Enjoy elephant, pony and carousel rides; cotton candy, ice cream, tasty sandwiches and our main lobby gift shop. Experience a live circus performance and entertaining Nothing But Nonsense show with Steve & Ryan. Experience the thrill that never grows old at Circus World!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When it was announced that "The Greatest Show on Earth” would no longer be, my heart crumbled at the thought that a childhood tradition would soon come to an end. How sad for future generations.
A three-hour visit to the Circus World Museum triggered some fond memories. As you approach the front doors, calliope music welcomes you into the world of lions, tigers and elephants. In the exhibit hall and visitor center are bigger than life posters and lithographs that wooed children and adults alike into the magical world of the big top. In the collection are views of people who were part of the sideshow acts. Discover how these outcasts of society found employment, worth and love through the circus.
Learn of the five Ringling Brothers who started a circus in Baraboo, WI, May 19, 1884 with a small tent, three horses, a hyena and a troupe of 21 people. You’ll gain insight into the life of each brother, their life’s apart and as a unit to make their circus the best the world would know.
At the W.W. Deppe Circus Wagon Pavilion, you will see an impressive array of beautiful circus wagons. In the C.P. Fox Wagon Restoration Center, you’ll view the Star Tableau wagon from Sir Robert Fossett, considered England’s oldest circus in the world.
Other barns on the property showcase the stories and costumes of the ringmaster, clowns and costumes of different acts of the day.
Admission during the spring and fall is under 10.00. Summer rates are under 20.00. A must see is the to scale circus big top display with movement of circus acts.
Overall: This was a great day trip that was worth the drive and time.

Thank Hitheroadwithlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. So pleased to read that our amazing state heritage and the vibrant stories of those who truly made "The Greatest Show on Earth" great resonated during your visit. We are caretakers of a million stories of circus lives lived to the fullest to bring joy to their fellow citizens. For many from very humble beginnings to lofty achievements, each followed their dream and in the process inspired other dreams. We truly hope that your future travel plans allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Great Wisconsin historical society location to go with the kids and revive the former glory days of the circus. Wonderful activity to do with the kids.
There is a museum area with old circus trains, another one with the old carriages and memorabilia as well as different shows all throughout the day.
If you plan on going, I would recommend to check their website, as their schedule does change depending on the month.

Thank Africa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We celebrate the vibrant circus heritage of the State of Wisconsin daily. Most of our guests are surprised to learn that over 100 circus's have originated from the State of Wisconsin including the two largest (The Ringling Bros right here in Baraboo and The Barnum & Bailey Circus in Delevan). We agree that checking our website for the most up to date information is always recommended. Thank you for visiting and we hope that your future travel plans include a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Circus buff or not, you will enjoy the large collection of circus wagons. Beautiful art work on each is amazing. The calliopes are a treat for children and adults.

The daily Big Top show is fun and a amazing feats of past circus performers. Really skilled and hard working performers.

Save time for the amazing poster collection. Some dating back as far as the beginning of circus. Colors and art work of old posters just beautiful.

Thank 262italianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Our gratitude to you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We indeed are blessed to have the largest collection of circus artifacts in the world which we are proud to share with our guests. We have over 260 historic Circus Wagons in our collection as well as over 12 000 lithographs. We hope that your future travel plans allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We visited right after the summer season ended, that meant no live shows, however we were not disappointed. Circus World had few visitors that day, leaving us plenty of time to read about and photograph the fantastic collection of wagons there. Many brought back childhood memories.

Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Ken,

Thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. While live summer programming has ended for 2017 (returning again May 18th, 2018), we feature over 60 acres and five buildings to explore. We are glad to read that your visit "revived those childhood circus memories". Circus is timeless and truly for Children of All Ages. We hope that your future travel plans allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The circus museum was magical in that the exhibits were arranged well, and made the past come to life. The live circus show under the big top (including elephants) was a unique piece of Americana. This was a wonderful experience and a top ranked attraction. The admission is included in one's membership to the Wisconsin Historical Society (strongly recommended)

1  Thank Doc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circus World also viewed

 

Been to Circus World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing