We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Family Wytheville, VA Roots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2015

My brothers and I made the 5 1/2 drive to Wytheville to meet brand new Sheffey relatives, visit The Sheffey Elementary school and Sheffey School Road, because hey we're Sheffeys! I chose this hotel because it was not a chain hotel, the photos looked great and the location was right in town on the main street.

The rooftop lounge overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains and the main street was simply spectacular including the sun setting just before the rain clouds came.

The beds were comfy, the restaurant food was wonderful, the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Our only negative - the blue light glowing from the wall air conditioner.

The room itself was immaculate with a great contemporary design feel, the bathroom had plenty of towels (our room had no tub just a shower - super!)

And for the business traveller, the free wifi was easy to access and didn't drop signal.

If you plan to visit Wytheville, we can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: room 401 is in a corner with no one on either side or across from you. It was the quietest hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Weddings008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, General Manager at The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Wow! What a great review! Thank you for your thoughtfulness in letting us know what you think about our Award Winning Property! I'm happy that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and because of that I'm sure you had a wonderful visit with your family.

Safe Travels and we look forward to seeing you in the future,

Samantha Moore
Hotel Director/ General Manager
Bolling Wilson Hotel
Wytheville VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2015

I myself didn't stay at this hotel, but my review is to show the character of the staff. A friend of mine was on her way there for a business trip and was just having ONE OF THOSE DAYS. I called the hotel and spoke with the front desk and sent in a request to have something waiting in her room when she arrived. She transferred me to the bar and the young lady fulfilled my request and even wrote a note to go along with the beverages and made it personal. Also, later in the evening my friend went down to the restaurant to grab some dinner and the server promptly brought out a complimentary shrimp cocktail and told her that they heard she was having a bad day and they hoped that this helped. It is not often that you find a large business that will go out of their way like that for a guest and I can tell you it made a HUGE difference.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGillKimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, General Manager at The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review we are always happy to help make our guest day better. We all have had that day that we just need a little extra sweet gesture to make the evening so much better. Thank you for letting us be a part of that. Our team goes above and beyond to make everyone feel like family. We hope that one day you will get to stay with us and experience the service for yourself.

Have a blessed day,

Samantha Moore
Hotel Director/ General Manager
Bolling Wilson Hotel
Wytheville VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Booked this hotel based on reviews. Was not disappointed. Very clean updated rooms. very comfortable beds. The restaurant had the best food! Staff was all very pleasant, however they seemed very overwhelmed, not sure why unless it was a lot busier before we got there, but the service was great none the less. Would recommend if traveling through town. No pool which disappointed the kids. I guess the only thing we didn't like was the muffins offered in the breakfast basket were not very good, no one in our family ate it which says a lot since my kids could live on muffins in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drmickeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, General Manager at The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you were pleased with our property. I appreciate your feedback and time it took to let us know what you think. I'm happy that you were taken care of, enjoyed your stay and had a restful experience. If you are ever in the area again, make sure to stay here. Why go anywhere else?

Best Wishes,

Samantha Moore
Hotel Director/ General Manager
Bolling Wilson Hotel
Wytheville VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed for one night on a trip to SW Virginia. What a find. Service is outstanding from front desk to wait staff. We had a suite, which was a large corner room with a couch. Room was well furnished - great carpet. Goodies galore. Very large flatscreen LG with a lots of channels. We had the package that provided a $50 for the restaurant, which was a good choice. Bed and couch were very comfortable and in great shape. Toiletries top level. Breakfast (continental with muffins, bananas, yogurt is delivered in a basket at your door. The dining room is small. Make reservations if you want the dining room, otherwise you can eat at the tables in the bar. The restaurant can cook and delivers good southern favorites and somewhat inventive choices. Good wine list with both standard and eclectic choices and good prices for the wines. There is a rooftop deck that was wonderful to sit, engage with others and watch the moon. Lots of free parking. Bartender knows how to make very good drinks, some with local spirits. A small, well-stocked gift shop. If in the area, visit the local wineries and distilleries. We very much enjoyed Abingdon Vineyards and Winery, watching the brook and the river with good wine.

Room Tip: Get either the suite or Jacuzzi room. Check for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, General Manager at The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for your glowing review! I'll share your sentiments with our amazing Team, they love hearing great things about them and our property. We strive very hard to give you the best experience and it appears we accomplished our goals! Be sure to be loyal to our hotel and come back when you are in the area again. We want you here!

Safe Travels,

Samantha Moore
Hotel Director/ General Manager
Bolling Wilson Hotel
Wytheville VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had the pleasure recently of staying at the newly renovated old George Wythe Hotel. I was born in Wytheville and I have so many wonderful memories of the George Wythe Hotel from the 50's and 60's. The now NEW Bolling Wilson Hotel is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed our stay so much. The room was excellent and beautifully decorated and sparkling clean. The staff was exceptional and so friendly and helpful. This will be our new "home away from home" and we will make new memories on our future trips to Wytheville.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, General Manager at The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Wonderful!!! We love that you are going to make our hotel your "home away from home". That means so much to us. I'll be sure to tell my Team about your review, they love hearing about how their customer service impacted your stay positively. Be sure to come back again, we want you staying with the best!!

Best Regards,

Samantha Moore
Hotel Director/ General Manager
Bolling Wilson Hotel
Wytheville VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
2.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wytheville
1.6 km away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#5 of 20 in Wytheville
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Hampton Inn Wytheville
#11 of 20 in Wytheville
602 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
2.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 170 E Main St, Wytheville, VA 24382-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range: HK$898 - HK$1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolling Wilson Hotel was originally built in 1927 as the George Wythe Hotel where it operated until the late 1960's. At that time, it was touted as a fire proof building due to its solid construction, which was important at the time as so many small towns had experienced fires which demolished many of their service facilities. When the property opened you could rent a room for $1.50 for a single and $2.50 for a double, how things have changed! There have been many a wedding and celebration held in the old George Wythe Hotel some 40 years ago and many more to come as the Bolling Wilson Hotel. Since its closure as a hotel in the 1970's it has enjoyed many lives as a bank. When the last bank decided to move and the building became available it was purchased by Bill and Farron Smith of Smith Enterprises, in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, WingontravelTA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing