We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
Booking.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
16
21
16
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
21
16
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lovely evening here by virtue of the candlelit and nicely laid tables, the music drifting from upstairs and looking out on the harbour. I really felt however that this place is over priced (€50 a head) given that my calamari was chewy, my tortellini was thick and under filled and every course they brought one dish then had to wait for 5 minutes for the other!

I wouldn't go back and would try out one of the many other options!

Sent from my iPhone

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DptComunicacion, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Portocolom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, trasladaremos sus comentarios a nuestro equipo de cocina. Lamentamos que haya tenido esta mala experiencia con el servicio, se trató de un problema puntual. Le esperamos de nuevo en nuestro restaurante.

Un saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here last December, room was lovely and large, very clean, staff where amazing, breakfast was yum! The restaurant is fantastic, we went back to the resturant in April and the staff recognized us was made to feel so welcome, food to die for,setting is lovely, definately will be returning when we return to mallorca in the next few weeks. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbridge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2012

To be honest, this hostal is not worth the money they charge for their rooms (ath least not during high oder middle season).
At night, the garbage collector wakes you up and after that the collector of glasses will not let you fall asleep.
The water of the shower is as salty as the sea, just 50m away. Additionally, don't expect hot water!
The staff is friendly, but the hostal is definitively not worth its money.
A very disappointing hostal!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globebiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Have stayed in 7 or 8 Majorcan hotels and self catering places but this beats them all.
Not on grounds of luxury, as the acommodation is no better than a UK Travel-lodge or a Formule une in France but because the rooms are quiet, parking is plentiful, easy and free,,
there is free wifi and use of a pc. One has a balcony to hang kit out to dry (Lycra if you must know!) and space to put bikes safely. The beach at Cala Marcal has never been crowded when we have been but possibly lt may be in high summer.
The staff are friendly and helpful and this seems to generate a good atmosphere in which guests acknowledge each other, which is not all that usual.
The reason for the enthusiasm is that the breakfasts are really excellent and varied. You can
stuff yourself and last until dinner if need be. Even better is the fact that the HPC restaurant is really exceptional as indeed are the 4 or 5 others within 200 metres. If you want cheaper typical
pizzas and basic grub then you can get that 1km walk away at Cala Marcal.
Have been before and will list this as preference #1 for Majorcan stays

Room tip: You should not stay here if the room is your main/ONLY criterion for holiday choice as they are all the same and perfectly adequate but not luxurious or very special. But if location, parking and pleasant staff abd above all great food are important then come here.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2012

To be honest we had a problem of noise with the first room but were immediately given a different room which was lovely. Clean, large, two balconies, ample storage space, aircon and wifi. The staff were extremely friendly and obviously spoke various languages. I would have given five stars but to me the only thing lacking was a kettle in the room. We will definitely return.

Room tip: The best wifi is closest to the hostal entrance.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabaspre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews