We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
90
142
38
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
142
38
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner location is great late flight enjoyable stay dining room is swimming pool nice hotel the hotel staff germans gym sunbeds germany
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 nights here, its a lovely clean hotel, the room was small but very clean and functional, the bathroom was good and quite large, food was very good but did get a bit boring after the first week, the staff were all friendly and helpful, close to the beach and town, we had a lovely room on the ground floor that was very quiet.
The only two problems are
1.the beds are very hard and so are the pillows, they did put a mattress topper on but it didn’t really help.
2. It was like going on holiday to Germany, every sign is in german and every single shop in the town is geared up for germans, i don’t have a problem with that but i would have been nice to have a bit of mixture of cultures, i understand that it is not the hotels fault but i wouldn’t return because of this

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again


Sincerely,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Arrived back from this hotel Friday the 22nd June after staying 10days. First the positives..the staff were really nice and helpful. We had a lovely greeting from the reception staff on our arrival. Our room was on the 7th floor which was lovely and just what we asked for, with a lovely view of the sea, it was beautifully decorated too. Now the negatives..THE FOOD, no choice, Luke warm every day, my husband had mussels on the first night and was ill for 3days, the breakfast was awful, one day on the buffet for breakfast was raw carrot in a bowl of water!!Whatever vegetables were on offer one night they were served the next night chopped up in something. You are allocated a table which is yours for your stay, ours was at the back of the restaurant which was hot and stuffy, no air con. ENTERTAINMENT.. non existent, they have a program board in the foyer but it never happens, so no daytime activities and we had night time entertainment 3 nights in our entire stay. No atmosphere at all. I could go on and on with the negatives but suffice to say we won't be returning to this hotel.By the way loads of steps up and down to the beach which is not mentioned on the website.

Room tip: High floor is best
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetDillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

First of all, I would like to thank you for the praise and positive comments regarding staff friendliness and room location and decoration. I am happy that these details were up to your expectations and will forward this opinion to my team.

On the other side, I’m sorry that the food was not to your liking. We try to offer a varied tasty choice of international dishes, but our guests belong to many different cultures and nationalities and it is difficult to suit everybody’s preferences. I’m sorry about your husband’s illness during your first days of stay, but this needn’t mean that mussels or any other food from the buffet was in bad condition. If this had been the reason, we for sure would have had many other ill guests, and we hadn‘t. There are many reasons why someone can have intestinal discomfort during the holiday, from weather to tap water or simply intolerance to determinate food. It’s not necessary to blame always the hotel buffet. I would also like to point out that food is not recicled from one day to the next. As hotel, we have a lot of sanitary regulations to meet and regular inspections to pass. Of course it happens that some articles are repeating from one day to the next, which is normal in a 2-weeks menu wheel with over 100 articles every day.

there is air conditioned in the restaurant, and it is on during the meal times, only the restaurant is very big and the feeling of coolness varies throughout the place, but guests have always the possibility to sit at a terrace table (which can’t be reserved) or ask the maître for a table change.

Entertainment is in place, however the Lido Park is not a Club Hotel and it is not publicized in this way. Guests can join several activities or enjoy a discreet evening entertainment several times a week. Those who prefer another kind or more animated entertainment can find this in many places in the nearby Magalluf or in Palma.

I regret if you didn’t read the information about the steps to the beach, since this is for sure indicated in our website. First sentence in the hotel’s general description is „Universal's largest hotel rises majestically up above a crag overlooking two extensive sandy beaches“, and if you click further to „Location“, it’s written „Incomparable location directly beside two beautiful beaches. Steps connect the two.“ However, there is a longer but safer way to reach both beaches without steps, passing Hapimag Reception or on the other side, Alltours hotel. Only it is shorter through the steps.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our house. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,”

Julio Macía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

3rd time we have stayed here - great hotel and very helpful staff. We arrived after midnight and a meal was waiting for us.

Restaurant is good, especially the outside areas; location is great for access to the beach and into the town.

Will certainly return again for a 4th time.

Room tip: All rooms are quiet, those overlooking beach get morning sun and overlooking bar terrace have late afternoon / early evening sun.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello Andrew,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

I'll start with the positives, we stayed at the hotel for 6 nights at the end of of May/early June. The hotel is in a great location on a lovely beach with wonderful sea views. Food is good and if you eat outside as we did each night you could feel as though you were eating in a restaurant as opposed to a buffet. Staff were polite and helpful especially Ronaldo on reception.
Now the negatives, the first room were were given was directly above reception and noisy, there wasn't another room for us the first night so we were given a room on the top floor for the remainder of our stay. Unfortunatley the hotels aircon unit was directly above our room and this was noisy. The aircon in our room was not working, when I spoke to reception I was told as it was still 'Winter' the hotels aircon is not switched on yet. As it was around 28 degrees and very hot at night in our room we then had to leave the door open, making the noise from the aircon unit above us very loud at night. All of this would have been bearable however as a result of having to leave the door open we were bitten over and over again by mosquitos and found ourselves lying awake at night hiding under the sheets trying to not get bitten, listening to the aircon that we couldn't have on!! Very disappointed as we would never have booked the hotel had we known that the aircon was not switched on in June! Finally, a small thing but we had no water in our room before catching our early morning flight home so couldn't wash or clean our teeth, which wasn't very nice. Suchba shame as had the aircon been on we would have had a much more enjoyable stay (and not be covered in bites)!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JaneD186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, General Manager at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Good morning Jane,

First of all we would like to tell you that we appreciate your opinión about our staff, location and Food.
We apologize for a not good reaction to your demands. Unfortunatelly we have to asume our error in communication and in our response. The air condition has been on twoo weeks ago, if it were not, it doesn't disturb you. We have electrical devices to combat the mosquitoes.
To finish, Sunday at 1:00 AM we had a break in the general wáter line. Your room 703 doesn't have water until 8:00 AM.
We reiterate our apologies and we hope to see you again to make up for our error.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Due to emergency illness we could not go to the hotell.
Certificate from the hospital where we were hospitalized was given, but they didn't want to help us...

Despite cancellation several days in advance, they require full payment!
Nothing that they had informed us about before,
but as they require and gave us information about afterwards.. after the cancelelation!

Can't recommend the hotel at all...

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannik e, Owner at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Wendie D,
Thank you for taking you time to write a review.
We are very sorry about the emergency illnes and that you couldn't come to our hotel and enjoy your stay with us.
We already explained you that in the contract we have with your travel agency, there are different rate types. The rate type you have choosen had cancellation costs. This was clearly mentioned during the booking process and on the booking confirmation. We always recomend a travel insurance for these rate types in case of emergencies. Please understand that we had to comply with the contract we have with your travel agency.
We really hope that you will able to come to our hotel soon and get a better experience of our service.
Best regards from Mallorca
Your Universal Hotel Lido Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews