We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
21
27
29
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
27
29
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grangefield oasis courtesy bus to the beach mijas costa muthu membership boardwalk taxi reception pools bedroom resort
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We stayed here en masse as part of a hen party (for which I apologise to anyone staying at the same time who had to deal with 11 rather raucous and excitable women). Essentially, it was booked due to price so expectations were low. Personally, I was pleasantly surprised. You get what you pay for, we didn't pay a lot so we didn't expect much but the room was cleanish (though lots of ants in our ground floor room) and there was hot water. The hotel is in a nice residential area, it is a distance from restaurants/beach front but they put on an hourly shuttle which we took advantage of and worse case, a taxi was five Euro. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. We arrived late at gone midnight and a very patient lady (who was there all day and it appeared all night, the 3 days we were there) checked us in efficently.

Being honest, it's not somewhere I would book if I were staying with my husband, but it more than did the job for us and like I said, was cleanish and had what we needed. The room wasn't cleaned whilst we were there and neither were the towels changed but it does state on the information that this will be so. I assume this is because they are self catering apartments (there was a well supplied kitchenette) and not a hotel.
Overall, it did the job for us. It's not the Ritz but you aren't paying Ritz prices. A big positive were the two large and pretty pools.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thumpergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaR4862, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your comments. Your opinions are very important to us, as they help us improve.
We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

When we had booked this holiday I was desperately searching for a frank and honest review. I hope this can be one. Just not our cup of tea. We read all of the reviews of this hotel and decided to disregard them and make up our own mind. How bad can it actually be? With that in mind, you definitely do get what you pay for. I can’t remember if when we booked this through on the beach there was an option to go for all inclusive or half board but either way we opted for self catering - this was probably a VERY good idea - but more on that later,
Firstly, we arrived around 2am after a massive hoohar with our transfers - apparently no transfer company can get up to the hotel as it is so far up In the mountains. Once we were shown to our room which was on the second floor, there were no lights in the stairwell so in the pitch black we finally got to our room. The first morning we decided to walk to the ‘town’ down below, about 3km walk max - which for us wasn’t actually that much of an issue but as it is all up and down hill I can imagine it isn’t ideal for some. We bought all of our food shopping for the week which was a good job because the couple of times that we did eat at the complex, we couldn’t believe how little there was to offer. I find this strange because we realised that the pool side bar ( the only place to eat or drink on site, despite the website and numerous signs around the complex boasting a bar and ‘la hacienda restaurant - which were non existent) was actually owned and run by the owner of a seafront restaurant las ignanas or something along those lines, where the variety and quality of food was incredible in comparison to the bar on site at Grangefield oasis.
I fear that my review is going to wind up being a long tirade of grumbles so instead I shall summarise:
you definitely 100% need to Have a car, or at least devote your holiday to utilising the complimentary bus service the hotel puts on to take you to the beach (where not a lot is going on) but can at least then go further afield via bus to Marbella or Malaga.
There are flies EVERYWHERE, which I know can be unhelped but would be grately improved by having a cleaner poolside etc
There is literally NOTHING to do at the hotel. The ‘crazy golf’ was actually a joke and the pool tables in the games room were all broken and ripped.
If you are going to come here do not come when there is ever chance that there will be unpredictable weather because if you can’t just lounge by the pool all day like we couldn’t most days as it rained or was over cast 4/7 days, there was NOTHING to do.
If you are after a holiday whereby you do literally nothing then you definitely should come here, those with children - don’t bother. No entertainment for children ( or adults for that matter)
I will say though that the staff were very pleasant and the bar staff were great - no such thing as measurements here; count seconds not ML of alcoholic drinks which was great.
If you have late flights beware that we couldn’t get late check out so spent 8 hours poolside during overcast weather until the lifeguard closed the pool at 7pm just sitting around.

In closing - not our thing

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaR4862, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We regret your discontent, we will apply the necessary measures to improve. Your opinions are very important to us, because they help us to improve. Thank you very much and we encourage you to come back to see the changes and get more satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We are staying here at the moment. When we first arrived I thought we had come to the wrong place as it is nothing like the photos! This is no where near 4 star as advertised. The apartment we have got is old and grubby. The cleaners come with fresh towels once every 3 days and the bed sheets are only changed once in the 11 days we have been here. You are expected to put out your own rubbish.
You need a car to stay at this hotel as the facilities are poor. We found the pool ok and very few flies. The nearest shops and restaurants are over 2km away and the walk back is up hill. They have a poolside bar and restaurant which is over priced...on our first night we got 2 hamburger and chips, a small beer and a Diet Coke and it cost €34!!!
I would never recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaR4862, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We regret your discontent, we will apply the necessary measures to improve. Your opinions are very important to us, because they help us to improve. Thank you very much and we encourage you to come back to see the changes and get more satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

The resort is very tired. The pool area was dirty and unkept, the sunbeds were old and worn. The whole site was run down. No mini market on site. Mini golf was unusable. The only positive about our stay was the 2 bed apartment which was spacious. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance, so a car is needed.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank dareiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaR4862, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. We regret your discontent, we will apply the necessary measures to improve. Your opinions are very important to us, because they help us to improve. Thank you very much and we encourage you to come back to see the changes and get more satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Disgusting place. Full of flies. No sign of any cleaners around the hotel. Rooms and hotel very old fashioned. Maids changed beds and towels once in 9 days. We had to take out our own rubbish. Dirty place. Would definitely not recommend. Nothing at all to do at the hotel. The pool is never cleaned. The hot is totally out of reach of everything and everywhere. Facilities really poor. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are a health hazard. The floors are never swept or cleaned and there was the same dirty tissues on the floor that looked like they had been there forever. There is no restaurant or dining facilities. Outside there is just a very small, grubby, overpriced snack bar which also sells very extortionate ice creams and alcohol. We had a very small 1 bed apartment with no verandah only a door that opened slightly. There are stairs everywhere and blocks and blocks of buildings on the hotel. The photos of the hotel and the rooms look lovely... Don't be mislead. They obviously paid someone very highly to doctor them. We paid £1500 for 9 days self catering and thought it was reasonable for the school holidays etc. I would not, and not even think this hotel can justify charging even a half of that. Very disappointed

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gillyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaR4862, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We regret your discontent, we will apply the necessary measures to improve. Your opinions are very important to us, because they help us to improve. Thank you very much and we encourage you to come back to see the changes and get more satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews