We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
6
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amalfi coast roads atrani valley bus steps pool carla view
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Villa Sant'Alfonso is set in a very quiet and scenic location looking across a steep valley to the hilltop town of Ravello. This is especially scenic at night when the town is attractively lit and the apartment has very nice patio from which to enjoy this view. Scala is a mile or two away from the busy coastal town of Amalfi and offers a good alternative away from the crowds. There is a partial sea view down the valley. The apartment itself is a good size and is clean and tidy but is furnished quite basically; the beds are not that comfortable and the kitchenware is fairly limited, e.g. no wine glasses or basic washing up provisions. The local town of Scala has some good local shops (small supermarket, greengrocer, butcher) and we found it very convenient to just walk up some steps to get our daily supplies. There are a few local restaurants that looked good but did not actually try any and instead went into Ravello a few times. We really liked Scala, it is a quiet and charming real town as opposed to a tourist town and we felt like we were living like locals for the week. The apartment has a very nice terraced swimming pool that is shared but it was never that busy when we went. However, this apartment might not suit everyone and there are some things that I would point out in this regard. Firstly, there is some road noise as the road winds up the valley from Amalfi/Atrani to Ravello but we did not find it that bad but some people might not like it. Secondly, there are a lot of steps on this coast in general so expect to walk up and down lots of steps. It’s OK if you are in reasonable shape, we liked this as we are keen walkers and like regular moderate exercise. We walked to Ravello and Amalfi/Atrani a few times, both about 45min, but lots of steps! If you don’t walk, then options are car or bus. Roads are narrow and we heard buses are busy, but that’s the charm of the Amalfi coast. The last issue we had was that the sound proofing is not good. The solid floors transmit noise clearly and toilet flushes at night are quite loud. If you are a light sleeper this might trouble you. All in all, these are very nice apartments and Carla, the manager, is very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Lying in bed, sweating and no WIFI and no air conditioning and fretting over agreeing to pay £200 per day for an unserviced self catering apartment for two persons.

On the plus side it is very clean with nice views. The grounds are immaculate. The apartments are very spacious. Can park near the apartment.

There are however several negatives. WIFI is very sporadic and even when I can get connected it is very slow i.e. can not even think about streaming netflix etc. Get emails sometimes. Bathroom shower cabinet is made of cheap plastic and the entrance is a ridiculous 30 cms. diameter (one of our group had to cold shower by the pool).
Given one towel and one sheet for the whole week. No pool towels - bring your own. There is a thick plastic mattress protector that no doubt keeps body fluids from the mattress however makes plastic friction noise on any movement. Suggest immediate removal. No servicing of the apartment all week; no means of keeping the ants at bay and therefore come along with ant powder as advised by the management. There are no provisions left at all such as washing up liquid, salt etc. etc..
It is advised on the hotel information that tap water should be boiled (and here am I thinking that one good thing about the EU was standard setting).
I think that there must be a nice hotel nearby that would be much better value for money.
It is important to note that this accommodation is not an option for anyone even mildly unfit as much climbing up very steep slopes or else up 176 steps is required. Travel time to Amalfi by car down a convoluted narrow road is at least 30 mins. and much more in an overcrowded bus. Taxi is 50 Euro. each way. The suggestion by the management that it is anything less and supported by a picture looking like the sea is nearby - is strange. It is strange that some of the reviews on trip advisor talk about 'easy access' and no mention of not having air conditioning at least in the bedroom. Although the weather has been hot, we are at an elevation and therefore not as hot at night as along the coast. Nevertheless we did need to keep the windows open and use a very noisy fan to keep it reasonably comfortable. There are nets at the window. Will be more careful in future when booking to check out amenities.
Another plus is that having climbed the 176 steps up to Scala, the village store sells very acceptable 1 1/2 liter local wine for €3.50 which will help you through the week.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Wonderful self catering accommodation with parking near to historic Scala within easy reach of Amalfi and Ravello... Loved walking to Scala which is about a 20 minute walk from the apartment, but be prepared for a very steep climb up 235 steps to reach Scala, however once you are there you will not be disappointed and you can buy food and drink at very reasonable prices.. Scala is lovely and full of history without the tourists! Regular buses take you to Amalfi, half an hour by bus. If you like walking you can also venture on foot to Ravello and catch a bus from there to Amalfi. The host was lovely and very helpful, and met us in Scala to take us to our accommodation which is a short drive. Lovely swimming pool to use in the grounds of the apartments, well worth a stay at a fraction of the price of accommodation in Amalfi. You do need a car to access the accommodation and be prepared for a steep drive up windy roads with lots of passing traffic, which can be a bit hairy.. Overall a lovely peaceful stay, and would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week at Villa Sant'Alfonso. We booked this property as our 'home base' throughout the week and travelled every day from Scala to the many beautiful towns along the Amalfi Coast. The location is perfect as it is a mere 5-7 minute drive to Ravello, 15-20 minute down to Amalfi and about 45 minutes to Positano. If you are traveling with no traffic, these numbers could be less. The villa was absolutely lovely and had everything we needed. It was spotless upon our arrival with all the kitchen basics provided. The management has compiled a comprehensive binder of information to answer almost any question you may have, but Carla is on call should you have any further queries. The accommodation does have a beautiful pool. I noted that an earlier review had said that there wasn't one, so perhaps this is new. Parking is available in front of each villa which makes for easy access along the steeply sloping drive. The property as a whole is tranquil and lush with grape and broad bean vines growing over trellises throughout. Each villa has a massive terrace from which to view Ravello and enjoy a leisurely breakfast or evening drink. We procured some breakfast items from a shop in the village and started each day out on the terrace... I really can not think of any better way to prepare for a day along the coast. This location is of particular note as Scala itself is not at all 'touristy' and one gets the sense of truly being 'away from it all'. It is the ideal place to come back to after a busy day on the bustling streets of Amalfi.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NYCgrl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We had a two bedroom apartment (there was 4 of us) which was clean and large, the view in my opinion is gorgeous , and the smell of lemons growing just outside the room was divine, we were here for a wedding and had booked two , two bedroom villas and two one bedroom villas, they all had a bbq and table outside, however you have to climb up cardiac hill 180 steps to get to the main road of shops and restaurants if you don't have a car. Not easy to negotiate with groceries. Also the pictures show a pool there was no pool! you can use the pool in the hotel next door again up the hill and they charge 6 euros a day we were not advised this at the time of booking as we would have booked somewhere else a pool was important to us. The hairdryer in our villa was faulty and when I called to advise about this there was no replacement available, I was going to a wedding so needed this, I didn't bring one because it advertised one was supplied, we had friends staying in the other villas so I used theirs but if you were here on your own then you would have had to buy one. If you want peace and quiet then the villas are perfect and the price is excellent but if you want a bit more going on then maybe Ravello would be better.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Sally-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews