We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
10
13
15
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
13
15
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stand up shower the main hotel the staff was great storm accommodations hiking charm virginia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel met and exceeded our needs. Our waitress at the colonial restaurant was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and fully met our expectations. The lady at the front desk was also very helpful about any questions we had during the stay.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dakotaryan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This used to be a very charming hotel as we have stayed here in the past. The room quality has definitely gone downhill. Stains on the chairs in the guestrooms and you cannot adjust the room temperature if you stay in the main building with the balcony. It was hot the entire time. Very disappointed on this visit. It's too bad...we used to love it here.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cbs717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt Rutigliano, General Manager at Natural Bridge Hotel, Trademark Collection by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear cbs717, thank you for your comments. The hotel in the next several months will be going under a renovation. We hope to have these updates completed by May 1, 2021. We hope you will give the hotel another try. We are all very excited about the changes as well as a few surprises..

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

This is an older hotel but loved the history. We were there in early December 2020, so we were concerned about COVID-19. Sadly for the hotel business was slow. For us, it was perfect as we did not have to worry about a lot of people. They do need to update the bathroom areas.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bigfoote12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020 via mobile

We decided to stay here for one night after visiting Natural Bridge State Park without looking at the reviews which was a bad idea. We expected it to be a little dated as it is a historic hotel. I really liked that it was historic and associated with the Natural Bridge that we had just visited. The hotel being dated was the least of our concerns. We immediately noticed how warm it was in the room but simply turned the heat down for the time being. The room would have had a great view if you could have seen through the dirty windows. It looked like they had painted the windows and never cleaned up behind themselves. There were also paint chips all over the windowsill so they didn’t even bother to wipe that up. There was a wooden block sitting in the windowsill as well that we didn’t at first know why it was there. We went to dinner at The Red Fox Tavern which is located inside the hotel. It was very cold in there. The waitress was nice but she came back several times to clarify questions she had already asked us and it didn’t seem like she was paying attention to what we were saying. We ordered margaritas and said yes, that we did want salt on the rim which the waitress specifically asked us if we wanted but neither drink had salt. My husband ordered a medium rare filet mignon but it was so tough he had a difficult time cutting it up. It was very chewy and had no seasoning at all. I ordered a club sandwich and it was mediocre but then again it was just a sandwich. The fries were good at least. When we got back to the room it was so hot in there. We turned the AC on which was very loud. It made no difference in the temperature of the room at all. I was miserable all night because it was so hot. The next morning my husband went to get me a coffee in the lobby and to ask about the AC. First, he had to pay for the coffee. Most hotels have at the very least, complimentary coffee. When he asked about the AC he was told that they can’t run the heat and the AC at the same time because the AC had been shut off for the season. We are unsure why they didn’t tell us this information when we checked it as weather reports said that it was supposed to be 65 degrees outside so naturally it would be warmer inside as well. Finally, after sweltering trying to pack our things and hurry and leave we realized that the little wooden block on the windowsill was to hold the window open! Again, why wouldn’t they have told us this upon check in?? Do not stay here unless there is no other choice. Drive the 20 or so minutes to Lexington and stay in a quality hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank shannonjT9695BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

The booking staff was lovely. The reception staff was lovely. The food service staff was lovely. The room was GROSS. There was a dirty bath towel on the back of the bathroom door when we arrived and the sheets on one of the beds had obviously not been changed between guests.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melindajenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews