We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta do it!”
Review of Hull's Drive-In

Hull's Drive-In
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in Lexington
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 September 2016

If you have never been to an authentic drive in movie, then go here.
Great atmosphere, good hot dogs and something you'll remember.

Thank DurhamAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

It's cool to attend one of these throwback theaters as of this time Wikipedia says this is one of seven still operating in the U.S. The date however didn't go so well, they didn't start on time because this being the birthday of the theater, then technical difficulties caused an even further delay(start time was advertised as 8:10pm didn't get going until about 9pm). This usually wouldn't be a big deal but, they were doing a 3 movie special(Zootopia, Finding Dori, and Captain America Civil War). If staying on time this would put us around 2AM so we ended up leaving early, oh and some guy not paying attention opened his car door and hit my Corvette door so that just put my wife and I in a bad mood so yeah we left. I'm sure this was an isolated incident and still was an awesome experience. The ticket prices for adults at this time are $7 per person. They have a concession stand and it has decent food at a good price. When staying near go ahead and stop by and participate in some nostalgia.

Thank Shanepeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HullsExecDirector, General Manager at Hull's Drive-In, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

We do thank you for the great review. We do apologize that the night you came we were running a bit behind schedule. We would have been close to being on time had we not experienced technical difficulties with the projector. Unfortunately that was the major cause to the delays. I'm sorry to hear that your Corvette was hit while you were here. Hopefully there wasn't much damage. We hope that you come back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Man this place is awesome! Like stepping back in time. Great value as well. Food off the grill was great, as well as the popcorn and pretzels.

Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HullsExecDirector, General Manager at Hull's Drive-In, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I went here with a group while working at a young life camp. This drive in was awesome!!! The only thing was we sat on the grass instead of in the car so it was hard to hear the movie!

Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HullsExecDirector, General Manager at Hull's Drive-In, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for the great review. Sorry to hear you had a hard time hearing the movie. Our speakers on the poles aren't the best but they normally put out good enough sound to hear even if you're sitting on the ground. If you are here again in the same situation, please come talk to us, we may be able to help you out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

My family went on a Sunday night. We got there a little after the 7 PM opening time. It was a little early as the theater had light attendance and we could have gone about an hour later and gotten the same spot. We felt the $7 per person entry for adults was very affordable. The concession prices were very affordable and the quality of the food was very good. It was hot so we periodically ran the car for air conditioning. It is ok as long as your lights are off. It was a great experience for the kids. Keep in mind the movie starts at 9 PM so a double header movie ends past midnight. If you have younger kids you might consider watching just the first movie.

Thank polymr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HullsExecDirector, General Manager at Hull's Drive-In, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear you had a great time and we look forward to having you join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hull's Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Hull's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing