We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in thanks to Tripadvisor”
Review of The Quirky Pet

The Quirky Pet
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Montpelier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stopped off in Montpelier today, after reading all of the glowing reviews for The Quirky Pet on TripAdvisor. As a huge dog person, I wanted to see a Bergamasco Sheepdog in person and of course, purchase some things for my three dogs that are traveling with us. There was a good selection of healthy treats as well as other dog items. Friendly, fun place with cute dogs!

1  Thank KirbyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for the kind words!

Hope you enjoyed our 2' Meet The Quirkies album in the window. Next week 'The Quirkies' cross Main Street for another album cover for our window. We are really looking forward to the upcoming Reliving Bergamascomania exhibition this summer and fall. Hope you can make it back to see it!

Cindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fun shop"
in 2 reviews
"dog treats"
in 2 reviews
"the owner"
in 3 reviews
"sheepdog"
in 4 reviews
"breed"
in 3 reviews
"parakeets"
in 2 reviews
"rugs"
in 2 reviews
"dogs"
in 10 reviews
"goodies"
in 2 reviews
"products"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The quirky pet is an amazing place to visit.
Such a quaint welcoming location.
Lots of organic and healthy pet treats.
Worth the trip

Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

I walked in to pet the dogs, ended up buying things for my cat. The prices were nice, mostly on the homemade crackers and toys.

Nice store, very friendly owner.

Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Very friendly owner?! You made my day..... make that my week!

Thanks for the very kind words about the QP. I will relay the compliment to our three store dogs. They already have big heads... but that's the breed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Whenever I am in the area, I stop in to this shop. They have a great variety of dog treats and cat treats as well as a few pet goodies too. Also the shaggy dogs are so chill and just relax on the floor like rugs! So funny. The owner and workers are polite and friendly and always helpful. They have a big cage of parakeets as well!

Thank shaymcd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks so much! A while back a customer commented on the store music-- now it's the birds near the front counter. For those reading this who haven't been in the QP yet, there IS a big cage of parakeets. However, these ten are store employees and are NOT for sale. It's not just because it so hard to find good parakeet help these days. They are great at what they do. Their contribution is incalculable.

Cindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I was in Montpelier briefly and stumbled upon what might be the most unique and interesting pet shop in the country. It's its own strange little world, distinctly Vermont, with barn wood and beams, and two floor-to-ceiling trees with things for sale. Next to a bone-shaped wooden checkout counter is an aviary with a dozen colorful, chirping parakeets (not for sale!) They work at the shop along with 3 large sheepdogs with dreadlocks who occasionally lift their heads to acknowledge persons entering the shop. They also pose for pictures, and you get a free sticker which informs you that, among other things, Montpelier is the only state capital without a McDonalds or a Walmart.

The store sells only American-made stuff and if only for that should be considered odd and interesting. The background music is equally unique (eclectic), you might hear Richard Thompson singing about his 1952 Black VIncent motorcycle. I wish I'd had more time to spend just listening to the music and petting the sheepdogs. I totally recommend this shop as a somewhat offbeat five star tourist attraction, a place where the name indeed lives up to its billing.

Thank zaphodsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Wow! I've got to love out-of-town customers with an attention to detail. It isn't all that odd that you should have been visiting while Richard Thompson is playing. He's one of my favorites and has become a favorite of the dogs (The birds prefer international music with lots of rhythm going on)

It truly brightens my day when others notice the music at the Quirky Pet. You correctly pointed out that music is an essential part of the Quirky Pet experience.

Thanks for such a sweet post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quirky Pet also viewed

 

Been to The Quirky Pet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing