We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun shop

This place is great. They have quality stuff for doggies and the owner is great. If nothing else... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
ttaylo
,
Akron, Ohio
Just to see Cuba

The quirky pet is an amazing place to visit. Such a quaint welcoming location. Lots of organic... read more

Reviewed 22 December 2017
Bonnie P
via mobile
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
14
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fun shop dog treats fun place the owner sheepdog parakeets breed dreadlocks rugs aviary dogs goodies wood trees store products vermont
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The quirky pet is an amazing place to visit.
Such a quaint welcoming location.
Lots of organic and healthy pet treats.
Worth the trip

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

I walked in to pet the dogs, ended up buying things for my cat. The prices were nice, mostly on the homemade crackers and toys.

Nice store, very friendly owner.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lolafiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Very friendly owner?! You made my day..... make that my week!

Thanks for the very kind words about the QP. I will relay the compliment to our three store dogs. They already have big heads... but that's the breed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Whenever I am in the area, I stop in to this shop. They have a great variety of dog treats and cat treats as well as a few pet goodies too. Also the shaggy dogs are so chill and just relax on the floor like rugs! So funny. The owner and workers are polite and friendly and always helpful. They have a big cage of parakeets as well!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank shaymcd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks so much! A while back a customer commented on the store music-- now it's the birds near the front counter. For those reading this who haven't been in the QP yet, there IS a big cage of parakeets. However, these ten are store employees and are NOT for sale. It's not just because it so hard to find good parakeet help these days. They are great at what they do. Their contribution is incalculable.

Cindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I was in Montpelier briefly and stumbled upon what might be the most unique and interesting pet shop in the country. It's its own strange little world, distinctly Vermont, with barn wood and beams, and two floor-to-ceiling trees with things for sale. Next to a bone-shaped wooden checkout counter is an aviary with a dozen colorful, chirping parakeets (not for sale!) They work at the shop along with 3 large sheepdogs with dreadlocks who occasionally lift their heads to acknowledge persons entering the shop. They also pose for pictures, and you get a free sticker which informs you that, among other things, Montpelier is the only state capital without a McDonalds or a Walmart.

The store sells only American-made stuff and if only for that should be considered odd and interesting. The background music is equally unique (eclectic), you might hear Richard Thompson singing about his 1952 Black VIncent motorcycle. I wish I'd had more time to spend just listening to the music and petting the sheepdogs. I totally recommend this shop as a somewhat offbeat five star tourist attraction, a place where the name indeed lives up to its billing.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank zaphodsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Wow! I've got to love out-of-town customers with an attention to detail. It isn't all that odd that you should have been visiting while Richard Thompson is playing. He's one of my favorites and has become a favorite of the dogs (The birds prefer international music with lots of rhythm going on)

It truly brightens my day when others notice the music at the Quirky Pet. You correctly pointed out that music is an essential part of the Quirky Pet experience.

Thanks for such a sweet post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Fun, 'quirky' shop to stop in for a bit. The owner is super friendly and the Bergamasco dogs are adorable!! You must stop in when you are in Montpellier!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank conway240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra C, Owner at The Quirky Pet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

'Super friendly owner'? You definitely caught me on a dry, relatively cool day this summer otherwise you you would have praised the 'friendly owner'.......

Thanks so much for your comments.

Cindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews