We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I highly recommend the Sleepy Hollow Inn as a wedding venue. We had our wedding here in July. It was an absolutely lovely location - there were plenty of outdoor activities for our guests both at the inn and within driving distance, and our family really liked the bird museum down the road. You have options for the wedding ceremony if the weather does not cooperate. We had plenty of time to decorate the space, and the caterer had lots of room to set up. We did not have a DJ (we used our iPods and my brother-in-law on the microphone provided, which was amazing), but there is space for a DJ to set up. There was room for us to set up lawn games to play before the reception and after the wedding, and there is a great space for guests to camp (even our not-so-outdoorsy friends were happy with the camping here - there are showers available). Additionally, the folks who run this place are very nice. There are great outdoorsy places for some fantastic wedding pictures!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I write this review as a cross-country skiing enthusiast who likes being out in the woods for a couple of days and roughing it a bit. If that sounds appealing to you, check out this center's Butternut Cabin.

I have stayed here with a friend three times, all in the winter, and loved it. Admittedly, the most recent visit there was not a lot of snow. But because Sleepy Hollow makes snow, a couple of trails were in excellent condition; others were skiable but with rough places. To compensate, we also walked on the network of snowshoe trails. Still fun!

The cabin is about a mile up a trail from the lodge itself on a ridge overlooking Camels' Hump, Vermont's third highest peak. It is basic, with a picnic-style table, a couple of bunks with matresses, and a great wood-burning stove (with cut and split firewood). Bring your good sleeping bag and extra clothes. The stove has kept us comfortable on nights dropping to or below zero. One wall is nearly all windows facing Camel's Hump and the rising sun. We have heard coyotes and owls up there, seen a moose while sking, and noted lots of deer tracks.

From earlier visits, I know that the trail system is extensive and generally well groomed. Skis are available for rent if you need them, and you can even get breakfast at the lodge with advance arrangement. But we prefer pack in our food and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Reserve the cabin early.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed at Sleepy Hollow for a recent ski camp. While there was no snow then, from past experience, the trail network is gentle enough for easy touring and varied enough to make a great training venue. Molly also finally had snow-making put in so hopefully she will have consistent snow in the future. I was very pleased by the living accommodations. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even with a lingering cough, I slept soundly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Recently stayed here after attending a large family party in the Inn's Round Barn. The Inn, purchased by the Enman family in 1999 and renovated during the following year, has 8 rooms, with such names as the Catamount Room and the Ethan Allen Suite, and sleeps 20, total. All 6 of us, in 3 separate rooms, agreed the beds are super comfortable. The interior design and furnishings have an "Adirondack" look and feel to them. One of us dubbed it New England colonial in look. Either way, it is not a pretentious looking or feeling arrangement; the owners pride themselves on being Friends of the Earth by having a 32 kw solar panel system that powers the Inn as well as their three homes; also a pellet-fueled heating system that we can attest to more-than-adequately warms up the lodge. The dining room, with its great antique-festooned picture window, overlooks mountains and trees both near and far, as well as a great morning show of feeding Bluejays and Chickadees. The dining room seats 26 at large, family-style tables, and is further warmed by a wood-burning stove. The VERY informal reception area doubles as the rental area for cross country ski equipment and trail use; also here they sell organic maple syrup from their own 1200+ taps, plus Sleepy Hollow mugs, etc.. This past year, the family installed snowmaking machinery to insure good coverage for their many ski touring trails. The Round Barn, where we had our family party, was warm, inviting, and a perfect size (20' tall! 17 sides! Lots of windows overlooking Camel's Hump, a pond and their trails!) for our gathering.
This Inn is far from the madding crowd, gave us a VERY welcome respite from a late evening party, and is owned by a family that puts a great deal of care and effort into what they have created.
P.S. Roads leading here can be quite muddy, filled with ruts, and an uphill climb. Be prepared!

Room Tip: We can only vouch for the beds being great. Maybe look to get a room facing the pond, the meadow below, or the Round barn which is quite pretty at night when the decorative lights are on.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Molly and the crew were amazing at catering to all our needs!! For a late October wedding we had fabulous weather, but also a plan B if we needed it. Breakfast was great and right on time (a requirement on a wedding day!) Choosing Sleepy Hollow as the venue for our wedding was an easy decision, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews