We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
100
13
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
100
13
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solar power the cantina western town old west continental breakfast gun shop big bend national park gas fireplace non potable dry weather late april high speed internet small microwave place to stay city lights dish tv granola bars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

We are used to Costa Rican roads so we did not find the road to be tough at all. I’m surprised anyone complains. We did it at 9:30, well past dark. It’s pretty well graded but I would not want to drive it during a rain storm. Then again, even the main roads would be sketchy judging on all the flash flood warnings. The ranch idea is one of an old timey ghost town, with each building as a small guest house, and it’s set in a gorgeous area. It’s well done. However, the smaller details are done a bit on the cheap. The mattresses are spongy, pillows uncomfortable, with not so great sheets. Everything is self serve so it’s a bit confusing when you get there. We were there after driving all day and didn’t have time to get food. There aren’t many food options open if you need to get up early, know that the continental breakfast won’t be great for hiking. I would stay here again for the lovely views and cute cabins but not for more than one night because my back and neck couldn’t take it. If they upgraded the beds, this could be a 4-5 star place.

Room tip: Bring your own breakfast and a flashlight.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chicagotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful places.
The majestic views are unparalleled,
The rooms are clean and lovely.
If you want to see a sky full of stars with no lights to ruin them. This is the place.
Great communal kitchen!
The road coming in is rough but worth it
I can’t imagine how to say enough good about it.

Room tip: Don’t go in after dark the first time. The road is rough
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021

If you want to experience the quietness and beauty of the old west, this place is it! It is totally serene and awesome. It is surrounded by spectacular volcanic rock formations. The individual older cabins (we stayed in the Gun Shop) are a bit small and coffeemakers in the cabin would be a great improvement. The Gun shop however was located across from the Cantina which had a full kitchen with stove, coffeemakers, microwave, refrigerators etc. They did supply coffee, water and condiments. They say the water is not drinkable out of the tap so bring extra waters. Also, it is almost 20 miles from the nearest grocery store which is only at the gas station in Terlingua and not much in the way of food. Bring your own and be prepared. The view from the front porch of the Gun Shop was the best! We were there in late April so many varieties of cactus were in bloom. There is plenty of room to hike and explore. Be aware that it is about 2 miles down a gravel road from the main highway between Study Butte and Alpine. There is no phone service but there was WIFI. It was cool enough to enjoy the gas fireplace in our room. We overall loved it. The firepit outside is a nice gathering area but we did not get to enjoy a fire because of high winds.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

We stayed at Ten Bits and the property is beautiful. It id dressed up like an old ghost town, but has very modern facilities. It is about two miles off the road and is perfectly placed with a great view. The room we had was the Gazette with two kings and a full bathroom. The room has all the modern convinces, even AC. They a kitchen called the Cantina where they have a small breakfast for you or you can use the facilities to store and make your own. It is close to Terlingua. Don't miss the great experience as well as Big Bend National Park.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2021

Looking for a unique experience? Stay at Ten Bits Ranch! The remote location is about 2.0 miles off of State Highway 118. The ranch is about 50 minutes away from Panther Junction Visitor Center at Big Bend National Park.

We stayed for two nights in the Ten Bits Gazette cabin. This cabin had a great view of the sunset and the stars at night. There was a shared fire pit, with chairs, in front of our cabin. You have to bring your own wood for the fire. On the patio of the cabin were two rocking chairs. This cabin had two king beds, couch, television, gas log fireplace, small refrigerator, small microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom had plenty of towels, soaps and eco-friendly shampoo/body wash.

There is a cantina building with a kitchen and three large refrigerators. The refrigerators are shared with other guests. If you put anything in there, you should label it so no one takes it. There is a kitchen in the cantina for you to cook your own meals if you choose. A simple breakfast of coffee, juice, bagels, or cereal is complimentary.

Just a note about the cabins and location. It is a self sustaining property. This means they produce 100% of their power and water consumption. You may ask if this affects your experience. No it doesn't. The water is non-potable. They provide some bottled water in your room for drinking. Depending on the length of your stay, you might want to bring some extra bottled water.

There are no closets so be prepared to live out of your suitcase. The floors in the cabin are cement, so I suggest you bring a pair of slippers or flip flops to wear when in the room. There is WiFi but they don't want you streaming movies or music.

We enjoyed our relaxing stay at the ranch. It was so beautiful and peaceful. A real joy to see so many stars with no light pollution!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgs1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews