We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocrity in a great stting”

Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Open air beachfront bar has great location and resort atmosphere. My wife enjoyed her fish tacos, so I am being generous in my rating in spite of their strange idea of fried oysters. I received a plate of button-shaped hard breaded fried objects. I wasn't even certain they were oysters until I bit into one to be sure. The accompanying French fries were very good. I guess the attractions here are the drinks and nighttime entertainment.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank rogbrunell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018

Fun staff, bar food, expensive drinks but fun atmosphere. You order and then pick up your food when your pager buzzes. Simple but good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank L8359HDkarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Had a few drinks and Chips and Salsa at the Beach Bar last week. Great view, nice bartender and the Chips & salsa were good along with the drinks. Prices were reasonable. We did not go inside or eat anything else, but the place seemed to be well maintained.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BIGKMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Stopped at Claytons to experience the "Spring Break" vibe for lunch. With music playing and young adults playing games on the beach, it definitely delivered. Has a large covered patio to enjoy tasty burgers and fish tacos by the ocean. Food was good and reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jrapps2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This is a great spot to sit and watch the surf. The food is fast beach food- perfect since everyone is just walking up from the beach. It has a chilled out atmosphere and the beer is cold. Try it at least once if you are on SPI.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank PhadraHalifaxNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing