We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Pleasing”

Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc.
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In every country and every language, great wine is in many of life's most memorable moments. With deep passion, Haak Winery is dedicated to creating wines of distinction that accompany the memories of all who taste our wines and visit our estate. As the first winery and only commercial vineyard in Galveston County, we are excited to offer you premium wines made in the great state of Texas. We invite you to visit us and our gift shop where we offer daily tours and tastings. Around the world, milestones are marked with glasses held high. From Haak Winery, here's to history in the making.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had wanted to visit for years and finally found ourselves able to do so. Yes, it did help that it was moderate in temperature and humidity as it was December but that is what we enjoy about living in the south... right? We purchased the 3 wine sample and chose wisely. We did enjoy the distinct differences between the 3 but both agreed that the Madeira was the best. We strolled the vineyards but the vines were bare because of the season. Staff was polite but not overly friendly. Their calendar showed some interesting events throughout the year and we would like to try a visit during one of those times and hope for an improved experience.

Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia G, General Manager at Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your review Angela. We appreciate it and always strive to get better and will take your input seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2016

We bought a tour and tasting for 2 via groupon. We loved the history, atmosphere, and wine so much that we decided to buy a bottle with a meat & cheese tray and spend a few hours sipping and chatting. We met the owner while we sipping our bottle. Wonderful man! We look forward to participating in the harvest.

2  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful winery. Am a member of the wine club. The tasting is a bit pricey for only receiving three wines but really good wine. I would suggest adding one or two to the tasting or reducing the price slightly.

1  Thank edwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia G, General Manager at Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you very much! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We visited this winery and. vineyard for a tour of the facility to be followed by a
tasting of a sampling of some of the wines grown and produced. It.was an exceptional
experience. Not only was it a great learning experience, but we tasted a variety of
wines. Do not miss a taste st least, of their Madeira that they produce.

1  Thank Thomas P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia G, General Manager at Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you Thomas! We very much appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Good location here in the Houston area, excellent wines. Instead of a tasting, Haak offers a 3-wine flight, which was nice, because we could go sit out back, near the vineyard, and do our tasting on a nice, quiet, shaded table. My wife and I both enjoy dry reds most, and Haak does not disappoint - their Tempranillo, Malbec and Cab Sav were all excellent. We left with a bottle of the Malbec and Cab. Had this not just been a side destination, we would have had something from the deli counter there and enjoyed a little more time next to the vines. Overall, it was a nice side trip - highly recommend, especially this close to home.

Thank Tony915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia G, General Manager at Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for stopping by and for your review. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc. also viewed

Santa Fe, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Haak Vineyards and Winery, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing