We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,715)
Filter reviews
2,715 results
Traveller rating
937
1,160
435
108
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
1,160
435
108
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room daniels bar air con half board pool area plenty of sunbeds plenty of choice evening entertainment family room every night busy road star hotel winter break great holiday breakfast and dinner cleaned every day animation team
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,715 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A two week stay in October for birthday break. Stayed in a premium room but didn’t rate it as this. There was a stain in the bath and the bathroom looked dated. However the food was brillant with plenty of choice and all staff were courteous and polite. We had a lovely relaxing holiday and for the small bathroom problem that did not spoil it at all. We would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaOroNegro, Relación Clientes at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience about your accomodation at Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel fulfilled your expectations. Your comments are esteemed and they will certainly be shared with our team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we look forward to host you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Catalonia Oro Negro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel will not be to everyone's taste, but which hotel is? All I can say is rooms clean, food varied and staff friendly. Pool clean, sunbeds available and animation team encourage everyone to take part in games. All this at a good value price. Its a good base for people wanting to explore or good for just chilling out. We go twice a year with our son and my in laws and we enjoy the locality to the shops, bars and beaches. Plus we take part in the games. Special mention to Noel in the animation team. Great sense of humour and very personable. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaOroNegro, Relación Clientes at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel to spend your holidays and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are dissatisfied to know that you were unhappy with your stay. Most of our guests had enjoyable holidays with us, and many of them come back to the hotel Oro Negro year after year. In spite of that, your comments will be argued with our team.

Thank you once again for your opinions, and we really hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind regards,

Catalonia Oro Negro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed half board. Room clean. Disappointed there was no coffee/tea facilities in room. Could hire a kettle from reception with a charge & deposit. Seems outdated they charge for just a kettle. Our room was overlooking the road, despite this the room had 2 sets of patio doors (beware one set doesn't open from balcony as we found out when my boyfriend slid them shut to avoid mosquitos going into room -had to shout down to a couple entering hotel to get them to ask reception to let us back in). Also, local prostitutes frequent the car park opposite hotel EVERY night touting for business & not once did we see any police patrolling it. She was constantly disappearing into cars & bushes with young lads. Also, there is a local'nightclub' less than 50 yards from hotel. Despite it looking an ok area during the day with a golf course behind 'the' car park, it's quite seedy by evening.

Food the usual half board selection. Reception staff very helpful.

We stayed 12-19th Oct. Weather was warm but we didn't get an hour of sun/day. Was cloudy the whole week. Wouldn't go that late into Oct again as I like my sun.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaOroNegro, Relación Clientes at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience about your accomodation at Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel fulfilled your expectations. Your comments are esteemed and they will certainly be shared with our team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we look forward to host you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Catalonia Oro Negro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After 20 odd visits over the last 15 years, sadly it's time to say goodbye to this hotel. Why? after so many happy times and making many friends among the staff, put simply the attempted improvements are abysmal and the best bits, like the food, have deteriorated to unacceptable.
Our last visit October 2018 wasn't helped when we were kept waiting 4 hours for our room by an ignorant receptionist, I was refused an audience with the manager after spending the afternoon in reception instead of by the pool! Whilst there we experienced the "new" furniture in the foyer, it looks like the local charity shop has taken pity and given them a few oddments!
When we finally got a room, the walls were damp with paint and plaster crumbling onto the floor. However, everything in the room worked efficiently, it was the pool view we'ed requested and we had our own poolside loungers.
For many years the mainstay of this hotel has been the food, sadly this is now not the case! The choice of real meats has gone, salads have dwindled and sweets are virtually non existent. Breakfast is pot luck, whoever decided to put fried eggs in a bowl instead of on a tray? Having to reach over hot tureens to get food from behind is ludicrous. Go back to trays under hotlights for a start. If you want to do away with napkins at least ensure there's a supply of paper ones.
The oro negro has had a stable clientelle over the years, happy with the way things were and happy to return but i fear it will plummet in popularity unless the slide is halted. They've even joined the trend of booming "music" around the pool area, the majority of visitors are senior citizens who crave peace and quiet. It pains me to write this review, some good friends may loose their jobs if customers go elsewhere....as we will on our future trips to Tenerife.

Room Tip: High up might be better
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Donagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaOroNegro, Relación Clientes at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel to spend your holidays for the last 15 years, and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are dissatisfied to know that you were unhappy with your stay. Our main purpose at Catalonia Oro Negro is to provide our customers with the best service possible, and we regret that this was not your experience. Our team work very hard on this every day. Nevertheless, your comments will be argued with them.

Thank you once again for your opinions, and we really hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind regards,

Catalonia Oro Negro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We love this place . The staff are very friendly and the location is superb. Special mention again to the entertainment team and especially Noel who makes everyone's holiday fun. Will be back again as soon as I can get the time off.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank joeyedwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaOroNegro, Relación Clientes at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience about your accomodation at Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel fulfilled your expectations. Your comments are esteemed and they will certainly be shared with our team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we look forward to host you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Catalonia Oro Negro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews