We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
194
316
212
68
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
316
212
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board elderly spanish star hotel air con changed everyday fresh fruit bars and restaurants sky news rooms are basic very clean hotel lovely walk bar prices bus stop minute walk to the marina pool area taxi rank plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Went here half board last april 2017 and had a great time
Food was up to a very good standard NB You had to pay for your water at tea time WHY????
Rooms and Hotel kept very clean and we found the staff friendly
For the price we paid I can say we had no complaints
Many Thanks for a great time

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Gary E

Thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday with us at the MedPlaya Balmoral. Its great to read that you particularly enjoyed the restaurant and the service of our team. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind regards

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Small and basic rooms but they were clean and maintained well. If looking for a budget hotel then we would recommend here. Food is okay, nothing amazing but not disgusting either, normally lots of choice so something for everyone. The pool is a decent size with a smaller jacuzzi pool too, and plenty of grass and sun loungers. Evening entertainment is quite good too considering it's free, drinks are quite reasonable price at the bar too. All in all a basic but modern hotel that should suit most people's needs. We were out most of the day enjoying the sights and the beach so barely in the hotel. Most staff were quite friendly. Only bad point is there is very limited free on street parking, we sometimes had to drive around the block 2 or 3 times looking for a spot. If you visit in high season in summer I would definitely recommend paying extra to use the hotel car park, which I think they said was €5 per night but had to be booked for the whole duration of our stay, we couldn't just pay night by night as and when needed.

Room Tip: Both sides offer a view of the beach, but the side with pool has a slightly better overall view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMcM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Just back from a 10 day stay with my husband and honestly I can not fault the hotel. Our room was big enough with a big bathroom, a balcony with a great view, all the staff were very friendly and helpful the food was a lot nicer than what we were expecting for a 2 star hotel. It is in a great location 5 minutes away from beach the Marina is in walking distance the hotel is nice and clean. Can not review about hotel entertainment as didn't go to any but was not disturbed by noise at any point. Would definitely recommend. Also a good service they have if you are half board you can have breakfast and choose to have lunch one day and you can choose to have breakfast and dinner the next day you are not obligated to breakfast and dinner you can mix and match with breakfast and lunch. Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor pool side we had great view of beach on one side and hills on other side
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Angie S

Thank you for choosing the MedPlaya Balmoral for your recent holiday in Benalmadena. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the majority of the areas of the hotel and service and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the hotel. We sincerely hope that this will not be the last time you holiday with us and that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel on future occasions.

Sincerely

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Stayed at the playa Balmoral on the last week of May
Good points
All staff throughout are excellent.
Food excellent with a good range to choose from, all though veg was cold on the odd occasion.
Hotel very well placed in Benalmadena for restaurant’s & shops & beach also the excellent public park.
Free Wi-Fi works well + free TV (don’t know what programs were on as we never switched it on)
Bar prices very reasonable.
Hotel serviced by three lifts
Although room size was smaller than expected it was not an issue as we went out all day
Pool good size and the sun bed area big enough and partial grassed over.
There is entertainment every night in the sun rise bar (don’t know what it was like we never went)
If walking is not a problem a walk down on the beach promenade to the marina complex then beyond to Torremolinos is a good day / night out.
Bad points
There is no sound proofing what so ever between rooms (use your imagination as to what you can hear).
You have to cross a very busy dual carriageway to get to the beach, there is a Spanish version of a pelican crossing use at your own risk do not cross until all traffic has stopped even then be very very careful especially if you have kids most Spanish drivers do not I cannot stress this enough DO NOT stop for red lights you will see this I am not kidding.
The hotel is situated behind a row of restaurants and shops the bin men empty the skip like bins at stupid o’clock in the morning with as much noise as possible.
There is no ban on smoking in areas that are used by children.
Did we have a good holiday yes we did was the hotel up to scratch yes it was, are Benalmadena and Torremolinos good resorts to visit yes they are .
Would I recommend the resort and hotel yes I would but don’t expect 5 star .

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear timeoffLancashire

Thanks for choosing MedPlaya Balmoral for your recent stay at Costa del Sol. We are glad to read that the main services at our hotel meet your expectations such our very good WIFI connection, staff, choice of the food or the price, they are key aspects in order to enjoy a great stay.
There is a pedestrian crossing in front of the hotel to access to the beach area. As you mentioned the road has 2 ways, and the cars stop at the red light on the first way but the second light is yellow so the cars only stop when someone is croosing the street.
Your comments will be shared with the managament team in order to ensure an improvement of our facilities.

Thanks for staying with us,

Sincerely

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Location:Good

Reception: check in/out was effecient and more than happy to order taxis for us.

Housekeeping: Room was cleaned daily every afternoon. Although on check out day they hassled us three times to reset the room before the latest check out time of noon.

Kitchen/waiting staff: We paid for full board which we regret. They managed to serve stale coco pops. The cooked breakfast was inadequate and repetitive along with lunch and dinner. It became a game to us to guess what the food was attempting to be. The rolls you could build a house with they were so solid.

The chefs were quick to tidy up breakfast at 10:15 when breakfast was served till 10:30. The waiting staff were the same when it came to closing the drink machines normally around 10am.

Rooms and facilites: Rooms were adequate for a budget hotel including an A/c unit. Swimming pool is small for the size of the hotel. We were awoken every morning at 8-9am by the cleaners filling there buckets to mop with. other customers we couldnt hear them,room to room sound proofing is great. The view from the balcony was also nice. We never used the bar or enterainment.

Overall: Dont touch the food at all. But definetly a clean budget hotel suitable for a few nights.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear stephen M

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We will supervise your comments regarding the times at the restaurant in order to ensure we are giving the service properly, thank you.
With regard to the food , as you can read in most of the reviews on this site, the choice in the restaurant is very appreciate it by our guests. All the dishes are titled and also our head waiter will gladly help you if you need it.

Thanks again for choosing MedPlaya Balmoral

Sincerely,

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews