We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
207
107
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
107
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lac bleu yogurt ski school the owner st francois rachel domain balcony slopes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020

The most important things I am looking for in a good ski hotel are proximity to the slopes (as there is nothing worse than being exhausted before getting to the first chair lift), and the standard of service.

On both counts this hotel scores very highly.

The decor of the hotel is also very nice.

I loved that the hotel is truly ski-in ski-out.

All the staff are excellent, its nice to be addressed by name, which gives a flavour of the personal level of service that the hotel provides. There were very few hiccups in service but if something did go wrong staff were always at pains to sort things out.

St Francois is a great resort for not-so-hot skiers like myself. It has a great range of blue runs with few nasty surprises - just up my street. If staying for a week or so, its worth getting the Grand Domain pass in order to explore the neighbouring resort of Valmorel although the descent down Col Medalaine into Valmorel is steepish but certainly not impossible for an intermediate skier. Thanks to Rachel for briefing me on the Valmel pistes- it gave me the confidence to venture over there!

I would have given the hotel 4.5 but TA does not allow that.

The minus points are:

1) Inadequate lighting in the staircases. The hotel is trying hard to be "eco" and uses sensors to turn the lights on but these don't always work immediately, and it could present a safety hazard to vulnerable guests.

2) No coffee making facilities in the room, which personally I missed. Also no fridge, although we left our drinks on the outside window ledge which did the trick

3) No choice at dinner but to be fair the standard of food was mostly good or very good and if you check the menu in advance they do offer to provide an alternative if the menu is not to your liking

4) Slightly disappointed in our room as it was a loft room with no balcony and only a very small window looking out over the mountain, but to be fair it was the height of the season and it was certainly large enough for us. Most of the hotel's other rooms are probably much better appointed than ours was. On the plus side beds were comfortable, and it was a quiet room.

5) Internet was good but you get thrown off the wifi connection quite frequently which is a bit annoying.

6) The ski room is on the ground level which is great as I hate negotiating stairs in ski boots but was a bit cramped at busy times, but we were visiting at the height of the season. Our locker was just about adequate for us (2 skiers).

7) Rooms on the third floor are not for the feint hearted. I think that last staircase is a black.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier SENSEY, Propriétaire at Le Lac Bleu 1650, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2020

Hello John J,

We thank you a lot for your detailled feedback and will try our best to improve the things you pointed out.
We are a truly ski in ski out hotel and most of our clients like you enjoy it a lot.
We are planning to renovate our rooms and will take in account your quotes.

Best regards,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

A friend and I wanted a short skiing break and happened across the resort of SFL and boy are we glad we did. This is an awesome resort with some fantastic slopes for all abilities. This hotel however made the trip, located directly on the slopes by the main ski lift what else could you ask for. The hotel is well laid out with and presented in the traditional style you would expect for the area. The owner greeted us on arrival, was on hand every day and along with the staff made for a wonderful atmosphere. We were half board, breakfast had the usual array of cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts and lots of yummy crusty bread etc but the evening meals were truly delicious. English speaking guests (which we found out in this resort is few and far between - not a bad thing as it allowed us to practice our French) will have the added benefit of the very knowledgeable Rachel, who is a true bilingual and extremely helpful lady.

I am seriously considering going back with the family.

Room tip: Just ask, let the hotel know your requirements
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thorsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotellacbleu1650, Propriétaire at Le Lac Bleu 1650, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Hello ThorstenW1979,

Thank you so much for your feedback!
We are very delighted that you had a wonderful break in our hotel and will be very pleased to welcome you again with your family!

Best regards,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent and relaxing stay during summer time. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast served at the table with croissant, yogurt, fruit, milk, fresh bread etc. Rooms are cozy, authentic mountain style with an amazing view from balcony directly on the sky slopes. Private parking, helpful staff with luggages and reasonable prices.
Will be back again ... both winter and summer perhaps!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Delpa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudivineVono, Responsable réception at Le Lac Bleu 1650, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hello ,

Thank for your nice comment!

Yes, we also think you should come back , in winter perhaps ?

Have a good day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This hotel in the charming village of St Francois Longchamps has everything what is needed for a great holiday. Right at the ski slopes, with a magnificent vue on the Savoie Alps it gives you a feeling of "Home away from home".
Jean Pierre, the hotelier and Alex and Emile, our two devoted, extremely nice waiters gave us such a welcome feeling and by their attitude a very personal approach as well!
The food was very nice, the room comfortable and the balcony a big plus! Amenities such as separate ski lockers, coffee and tea in the room made life easy!
A big thank you to Hotel Le Lac Bleu. Absolutely a winner!

Room tip: I would chose the rooms at the front
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I almost don't want to say too much because it will allow more people to find this gem!! The hotel is in a lovely little town and so close to the slopes, it makes getting to ski school so easy each day! There is plenty for the children to do once skiing is finished, in the hotel as well as outside. All of the staff made our stay so pleasant and even when things were not quite right, they made sure they put them right. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were cosy, and just the right size; food was lovely and the ability to change menus, where necessary, was welcome. We'd definitely stay there again!

Room tip: The bedrooms at the front have a slope view, but you may need earplugs for the pisteurs.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodlywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews