We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. It is located 65 miles NW of San Antonio just off I-10, and is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. Larger-than-life style western bronzes dot the exterior grounds. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who have devoted their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive experience of life on a wagon train. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. An annual art sale and exhibition is held each fall.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Was here a number of years ago when it was home to the CCA artists. Enjoyed it just as much this time. Nice to see some names of fellow artists I know in there still. Thanks.

Thank Mike9922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us and write a review. You're right - we opened as the Cowboy Artists of America Museum and just celebrated our 35th Anniversary!

We hope you'll stop and see us again when you're in the hill country becauseour exhibits do change.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mesquite wood"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"chuck wagon"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful paintings"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"stage coach"
in 3 reviews
"brick ceiling"
in 3 reviews
"hill country"
in 16 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"docent"
in 38 reviews
"cowboy"
in 26 reviews
"saddle"
in 31 reviews
"galleries"
in 19 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2018

A very pretty setting among the trees ......this museum is roomy and bright. The building itself and the history behind every piece of art work is well defined and extremely well placed. All museum personnel are happy ...... and smile at each and every visitor. If you are very
lucky, Miss Katie will be the docent for the day on your visit. All staff are totally dedicated to the museum, and will share their personal insights & stories.
You will learn a lot .... and have a pleasant visit. Worth the stop.

1  Thank WindyCity2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

How nice of you to write and let others know what we offer here at the Museum of Western Art. We also thank you for your compliment to our staff and volunteers....and we'll share that with them (including our wonderful Katie!) Everyone really wants each of our visitors to leave
with a great appreciation of the old west as told through art.

Thank you again and we hope you'll be back with us soon.

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

If you enjoy Western art this museum is worth the visit. The area is beautiful so Kerrville is always a good trip.

Thank Texasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for your compliment. We're so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful museum and permanent collection of western art and artifacts.

Since our exhibits change throughout the year, we hope you'll stop and see us again when you're coming through the Hill Country!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent experience. Mr. Frank was very knowledgeable and so very kind. The art work and sculptures were beautiful.

Thank Keturah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to write following your visit here. We're so pleased you enjoyed our art and artifacts of the old west and hope you'll stop to see us again when you're in the Hill Country. We often change out our exhibits and there's always something new and exciting to see.

Thanks again,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Wife and I easily spent 2 hours here viewing the western art. Many interesting paintings, sculptures and artifacts. Visit you won’t be disappointed.

Thank GoingFarFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you! We're so glad you stopped to see us and enjoyed all we have in our permanent art collection as well as our
artist of the month and western artifacts.

You are right - it takes two hours to really see and understand all we have here and we're glad you were able to do that.
Please come and see us again when you're in the Hill Country since our exhibits do change.

Thanks again,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing