We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Western Art
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive small town museum

We had a couple of unexpected guests drop in for Thanksgiving and they wanted to know what there... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kelika14
,
Kerrville, Texas
DIDN'T EXPECT THIS

Really nice western museum for such a small town, really didn't expect much so we were very pleased... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
dannywalter804
,
Harlingen, Texas
Read all 263 reviews
  
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
190
62
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
62
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mesquite wood on display chuck wagon wonderful paintings gift shop rainy day hill country lovely setting worth a trip high quality wonderful place to visit small town docent cowboy saddle ceiling galleries
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

A very pretty setting among the trees ......this museum is roomy and bright. The building itself and the history behind every piece of art work is well defined and extremely well placed. All museum personnel are happy ...... and smile at each and every visitor. If you are very
lucky, Miss Katie will be the docent for the day on your visit. All staff are totally dedicated to the museum, and will share their personal insights & stories.
You will learn a lot .... and have a pleasant visit. Worth the stop.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank WindyCity2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

How nice of you to write and let others know what we offer here at the Museum of Western Art. We also thank you for your compliment to our staff and volunteers....and we'll share that with them (including our wonderful Katie!) Everyone really wants each of our visitors to leave
with a great appreciation of the old west as told through art.

Thank you again and we hope you'll be back with us soon.

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

If you enjoy Western art this museum is worth the visit. The area is beautiful so Kerrville is always a good trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Texasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for your compliment. We're so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful museum and permanent collection of western art and artifacts.

Since our exhibits change throughout the year, we hope you'll stop and see us again when you're coming through the Hill Country!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent experience. Mr. Frank was very knowledgeable and so very kind. The art work and sculptures were beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Keturah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to write following your visit here. We're so pleased you enjoyed our art and artifacts of the old west and hope you'll stop to see us again when you're in the Hill Country. We often change out our exhibits and there's always something new and exciting to see.

Thanks again,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Wife and I easily spent 2 hours here viewing the western art. Many interesting paintings, sculptures and artifacts. Visit you won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank GoingFarFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you! We're so glad you stopped to see us and enjoyed all we have in our permanent art collection as well as our
artist of the month and western artifacts.

You are right - it takes two hours to really see and understand all we have here and we're glad you were able to do that.
Please come and see us again when you're in the Hill Country since our exhibits do change.

Thanks again,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Amazing displays and historical presentations. Great monthly meet the artist gatherings. A place to see the best art in the state.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 778bradj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy our museum and appreciate that you took time to write about us. We hope you'll be with us often to enjoy our different Artists of the Month, our special classes and our annual art sale in September.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews