We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience!”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. It is located 65 miles NW of San Antonio just off I-10, and is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. Larger-than-life style western bronzes dot the exterior grounds. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who have devoted their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive experience of life on a wagon train. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. An annual art sale and exhibition is held each fall.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

I went to the museum with my boyfriend, and we had a great experience. We were received by a lovely gentleman, who gave us a lick summary of what we would see.
The place is lovely and has beautiful paintings and sculptures!
We wish we would have had more time to see things in detail.

1  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you! We always love hearing that our visitors enjoyed seeing and learning about the old west through our art and artifacts. Thank you for your compliments to our volunteer staff. Everyone here wants all of our guests to leave with a good impression.

The next time you're in Kerrville, we hope you can stop by again. Our exhibits do change throughout the year and we'd love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mesquite wood"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"chuck wagon"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful paintings"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"stage coach"
in 3 reviews
"brick ceiling"
in 3 reviews
"hill country"
in 16 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"docent"
in 38 reviews
"cowboy"
in 26 reviews
"saddle"
in 31 reviews
"galleries"
in 19 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

The party was indoors this year and that made it more cozy and comfortable. Absolutely no complaints, the food and drinks were great, the companionship was wonderful and the art was especially nice. Bought several pieces and loved the raffle for the wine baskets.

Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write about our annual event, "The Party". We're so glad you enjoyed the fabulous art we had on display, done by over 30 renowned western artists.

We'll pass along your compliment to the event committee. They worked hard to ensure every attendee had a wonderful evening.

Please stay in touch for our 35th annual Art Show & Sale - next fall!

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This museum is absolutely wonderful. The building's architecture, grounds and exhibits are ALL enjoyable and worth seeing, especially if you have no previous exposure to Western art. The Director is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and always eager to answer questions about the museum. Make it a point to visit - you won't be disappointed!

Thank NamasteAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write about your visit here. We're glad you found everything to be interesting and enjoyable, including our temporary exhibits and our permanent exhibit.

We appreciate your compliments - we are all happy to answer any questions you have about the museum and hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Visited Lost Maples in the Hill Country, stayed in Hunt, TX. After our visit to Lost Maples decided to visit this great museum. There are very interesting artifacts from the mid-1800s (wagon and stagecoach) and also a fine sample of sculptures, paints, and saddles. The docent was very friendly and knowledgeable (a volunteer).

There's a special section for kids that takes you back to the dates when brave man and woman were making the journey to the west through the 3 main trails (Oregon, California, and Mormon).

The museum is located in Kerrville, TX, in the heart of the Hill Country, the most beautiful area in the whole Texas state.

Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you! We're so pleased you stopped to see us and enjoyed all we have on exhibit here in Kerrville.

We have to agree, the Hill Country is a beautiful part of Texas and we're fortunate to be here. Los Maples is quite spectacular also!

Our exhibits do change throughout the year, so we do hope you'll visit us again if you're in the area. Please feel free to also keep in touch on our Facebook page for current events and art for sale.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I live in Central Texas and tell all my friends and family what a treasure we have in Kerrville. Folks I encounter who have been to the Museum have always had a pleasant experience on their visit. The amazing pieces are the first thing mentioned, but previous visitors never fail to express how beautiful the building itself is and how well they were treated by the knowledgable staff and volunteers.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy visiting beautiful Kerrville and have found our museum to be amazing.

You're so right - the building itself is very special and we surround ourselves with beautiful grounds overlooking Kerrville.

Since our exhibits do change throughout the year, we hope you'll stop in again and see
us. Again, thank you for your kind words.

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing