We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Western Art
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive small town museum

We had a couple of unexpected guests drop in for Thanksgiving and they wanted to know what there... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kelika14
,
Kerrville, Texas
DIDN'T EXPECT THIS

Really nice western museum for such a small town, really didn't expect much so we were very pleased... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
dannywalter804
,
Harlingen, Texas
Read all 263 reviews
  
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
190
62
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
62
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mesquite wood on display chuck wagon wonderful paintings gift shop rainy day hill country lovely setting worth a trip high quality wonderful place to visit small town docent cowboy saddle ceiling galleries
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This museum is absolutely wonderful. The building's architecture, grounds and exhibits are ALL enjoyable and worth seeing, especially if you have no previous exposure to Western art. The Director is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and always eager to answer questions about the museum. Make it a point to visit - you won't be disappointed!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank NamasteAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write about your visit here. We're glad you found everything to be interesting and enjoyable, including our temporary exhibits and our permanent exhibit.

We appreciate your compliments - we are all happy to answer any questions you have about the museum and hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Visited Lost Maples in the Hill Country, stayed in Hunt, TX. After our visit to Lost Maples decided to visit this great museum. There are very interesting artifacts from the mid-1800s (wagon and stagecoach) and also a fine sample of sculptures, paints, and saddles. The docent was very friendly and knowledgeable (a volunteer).

There's a special section for kids that takes you back to the dates when brave man and woman were making the journey to the west through the 3 main trails (Oregon, California, and Mormon).

The museum is located in Kerrville, TX, in the heart of the Hill Country, the most beautiful area in the whole Texas state.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you! We're so pleased you stopped to see us and enjoyed all we have on exhibit here in Kerrville.

We have to agree, the Hill Country is a beautiful part of Texas and we're fortunate to be here. Los Maples is quite spectacular also!

Our exhibits do change throughout the year, so we do hope you'll visit us again if you're in the area. Please feel free to also keep in touch on our Facebook page for current events and art for sale.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I live in Central Texas and tell all my friends and family what a treasure we have in Kerrville. Folks I encounter who have been to the Museum have always had a pleasant experience on their visit. The amazing pieces are the first thing mentioned, but previous visitors never fail to express how beautiful the building itself is and how well they were treated by the knowledgable staff and volunteers.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy visiting beautiful Kerrville and have found our museum to be amazing.

You're so right - the building itself is very special and we surround ourselves with beautiful grounds overlooking Kerrville.

Since our exhibits do change throughout the year, we hope you'll stop in again and see
us. Again, thank you for your kind words.

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This is a neat museum that has a wide range of western art and period pieces. There are two wagons inside, various Texas flags throughout history, a library, many paintings, an old desk, and small gun collection. They also have a gift shop. Outside are some cowboy sculptures. The entry fee is reasonable and they offer a military discount. The amount of time to set aside for this museum depends on how much into art you are. They have plenty of free parking.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you! We're so pleased you came by to see our wonderful museum and then took time to share your thoughts. Your comments and compliments are so appreciated, and we're glad you enjoyed reliving our western heritage through our art and artifacts.

Our exhibits do change throughout the year, so we hope you'll be back again!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This museum has many wonderful pieces of art in a variety of media. The building is light-filled and the art is very well presented. The outdoor sculptures are really special as well. We have visited on more than one occasion and we have attended evening social events there. We recommend a visit when you come to Kerrville.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank nancy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our museum and are so pleased you recommend us to others who visit beautiful Kerrville.

In addition to our permanent collection, we have special exhibits throughout the year so we do hope you'll stop back the next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews