We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Western Art
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive small town museum

We had a couple of unexpected guests drop in for Thanksgiving and they wanted to know what there... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
kelika14
,
Kerrville, Texas
DIDN'T EXPECT THIS

Really nice western museum for such a small town, really didn't expect much so we were very pleased... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
dannywalter804
,
Harlingen, Texas
Read all 263 reviews
  
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
190
62
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
62
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display gift shop hill country worth a trip small town docent saddle cowboy ceiling mesquite wagon sculptures stagecoach texas stories volunteers cattle
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We love this museum. Many beautiful paintings and some neat interior architecture in the building. You can spend many hours there or could go through it in about an hour. They have a small gift store where we bought some postcards and a book. The staff and volunteers are super friendly and helpful. When we were there, there was a docent available to answer questions. I look forward to going back!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank TexasPaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you! We're so pleased you came by the museum - and are even more pleased to learn you'll be back when we change exhibits!

We appreciate the comments you've shared so that others can appreciate all we have here as we further our mission to preserve our western heritage through art.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We attended the opening of a new exhibit last night. Although we have been here before the level of art in the permanent collection along with limited time exhibits is wonderful. A must stop while in Kerrville!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Stephen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you! We're so pleased you came out for the opening reception of our Artist of the Month, Jeff Gant.

We appreciate your compliments and comments so that others can be inspired to visit us and learn about our western heritage. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Don't leave Kerrville without treating yourself to wonderful paintings, bronzes that look like they could come to life, and all displayed in the understated elegance of the architecture. Be sure to check about an artist working in the studio on the grounds!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank KansasCityBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you!

We're so pleased you stopped to see us while you were in Kerrville and certainly appreciate your kind comments. You're right - we have some amazing works in our collection and we're glad you enjoyed our art, artifacts and museum decor.

Hope you'll stop by again next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I wasn't sure about spending time in this museum, but I sure am glad I did. The exhibits are well presented, and the staff is exuberant about their gallery. Very nice folks and very informative. I wish I could have taken photos, but their policy did not permit this.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Traveller_Texas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you!

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our museum! We appreciate your kind words about our staff - they all want every visitor to leave with good memories and to come to appreciate our western heritage.

Thanks again and we hope you'll come back -- our exhibits do change throughout the year!

Stephanie Turnham
Executive DIrector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just like the miners in Gold Rush times, hollering Eureka is what it felt like after discovering this gem in the Texas Hill Country. Not only is the art on the walls fantastic in itself, but the beauty of the building will keep you in awe.

If you are in the area or even close, this has to be a 'must see' stop!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Your review just made our day --- thank you!

We're so glad you enjoyed what we have in our art collection and the museum's unique architecture. Thank you for your enthusiastic review that will encourage others to come see for themselves how we promote our western heritage through art.

Hope to see you again -- our exhibits do change throughout the year!

Kind regards,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews