We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. It is located 65 miles NW of San Antonio just off I-10, and is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. Larger-than-life style western bronzes dot the exterior grounds. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who have devoted their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive experience of life on a wagon train. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. An annual art sale and exhibition is held each fall.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We love this museum. Many beautiful paintings and some neat interior architecture in the building. You can spend many hours there or could go through it in about an hour. They have a small gift store where we bought some postcards and a book. The staff and volunteers are super friendly and helpful. When we were there, there was a docent available to answer questions. I look forward to going back!

Thank TexasPaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you! We're so pleased you came by the museum - and are even more pleased to learn you'll be back when we change exhibits!

We appreciate the comments you've shared so that others can appreciate all we have here as we further our mission to preserve our western heritage through art.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mesquite wood"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"chuck wagon"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful paintings"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"hill country"
in 16 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"docent"
in 38 reviews
"cowboy"
in 26 reviews
"saddle"
in 31 reviews
"ceiling"
in 12 reviews
"galleries"
in 19 reviews
"sculptures"
in 53 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016

We attended the opening of a new exhibit last night. Although we have been here before the level of art in the permanent collection along with limited time exhibits is wonderful. A must stop while in Kerrville!

Thank Stephen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you! We're so pleased you came out for the opening reception of our Artist of the Month, Jeff Gant.

We appreciate your compliments and comments so that others can be inspired to visit us and learn about our western heritage. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Don't leave Kerrville without treating yourself to wonderful paintings, bronzes that look like they could come to life, and all displayed in the understated elegance of the architecture. Be sure to check about an artist working in the studio on the grounds!

Thank KansasCityBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you!

We're so pleased you stopped to see us while you were in Kerrville and certainly appreciate your kind comments. You're right - we have some amazing works in our collection and we're glad you enjoyed our art, artifacts and museum decor.

Hope you'll stop by again next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I wasn't sure about spending time in this museum, but I sure am glad I did. The exhibits are well presented, and the staff is exuberant about their gallery. Very nice folks and very informative. I wish I could have taken photos, but their policy did not permit this.

Thank Traveller_Texas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you!

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our museum! We appreciate your kind words about our staff - they all want every visitor to leave with good memories and to come to appreciate our western heritage.

Thanks again and we hope you'll come back -- our exhibits do change throughout the year!

Stephanie Turnham
Executive DIrector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just like the miners in Gold Rush times, hollering Eureka is what it felt like after discovering this gem in the Texas Hill Country. Not only is the art on the walls fantastic in itself, but the beauty of the building will keep you in awe.

If you are in the area or even close, this has to be a 'must see' stop!

Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie T, Executive Director at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Your review just made our day --- thank you!

We're so glad you enjoyed what we have in our art collection and the museum's unique architecture. Thank you for your enthusiastic review that will encourage others to come see for themselves how we promote our western heritage through art.

Hope to see you again -- our exhibits do change throughout the year!

Kind regards,

Stephanie Turnham
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing