We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary ”
Review of Steamboat House

Steamboat House
Reserve with OpenTable
Steamboat House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 9,027 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$69
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Steamboat House is a steakhouse with a Texas history flair. Its large dining room is decorated with burgundy walls, flags and historical artwork. The restaurant hosts an intimate bar with a bust of Sam Houston and other Texas artwork. In addition to the main dining room and bar, guests are invited to reserve the unique Log Cabin room, which has become a popular spot for rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, Christmas parties, anniversary parties and more. Steamboat House offers different menus for lunch, dinner and children’s menu. Popular lunch meal choices include chicken tender salad, Republic pot roast sandwich and tenderloin tips. The extensive dinner menu includes the best of prime and choice steaks, bison steaks, seafood including delicious crab cakes and more. The owner of the Steamboat House, Charlie Fogarty, visits with guests to inform and entertain people of all ages about the Republic of Texas History.
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Last night was our first time at the Steamboat House and it was amazing! Chris our waiter was excellent and everything he recommended was great. Best pecan pie we’ve ever had, steaks were perfect and the crab cakes are wonderful!! We will definitely be going back.

Thank vfried40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senief2014, Manager at Steamboat House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your excellent review. We certainly appreciate your business and taking time to share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

The steaks and service at this restaurant are always great although the prices are not cheap. Eddie was our waiter and did an excellent job with his service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sylvial993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

I did not want to have steak tonight so the sea bass was a pleasant surprise. This is a non chain, “one off” restaurant that doesn’t do coupons or discounts so it is not as busy as some others. It was a great find, and it has an upscale look and feel to it. I found it to be a local favorite for a great meal. Take the drive and try it out !

Thank joecossette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senief2014, Owner at Steamboat House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your wonderful experience. We take great pride in providing excellence in all that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

This is my favorite restaurant, it is like a Texas-History museum, great steaks, but overall outstanding service. Great Job Eddie!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senief2014, Owner at Steamboat House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

We appreciate your business and rave review! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Celebrated family birthday for my nephew. I know my dining experiences in Houston area and this is just an average steak house. I wouldn't come back again. Even the side dishes were mediocre. And the Creme Brulee was below par. For great steaks, go to Killens, Vic and Anthony's or Del Frisco. I ordered the American Wagyu and I had to send it back. Even the bone in Ribeye was not flavorful as a medium steak should be. I was sorely disappointed but tried to make the best out of the situation. The appetizer seafood plate made for a beautiful presentation but was average.

Thank Dianablueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senief2014, Owner at Steamboat House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

We regret you did not have a wonderful experience dining with us. We always take great pride in providing excellence in service, food and ambience and regret we fell short of your well-deserved expectations. We will use your comments to make adjustments and/or changes as we continue to strive for excellence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamboat House also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Steamboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing