We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Artisans

Artisans
Ranked #14 of 9,032 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stuart
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We went to Artisans for our anniversary dinner. We were very pleased with everything! We had the 7 course tasting menu, with wine pairing. It was a fantastic experience. The staff is exceptional and very attentive, all the way up to the master chef that comes out of the open kitchen and greets guests. Our dessert plates had “Happy Anniversary” on them in chocolate. It was a nice touch!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Abandans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Visited Artisans for our anniversary and overall, had a lovely time. Food is good, didn't think it was amazing for the price but still good. Our dessert and coffee were amazing though! Best and favorite thing about Artisans is the bar seating around the open kitchen. It was such a neat experience seeing how all the food was made. Service was also outstanding!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Lovely high end, French themed fine dining experience on the edge of downtown. Food was very good. Was surprised it was only 30% full on a Saturday night in the holiday season. Therefore lacked some ambiance. Also, 3.5 hours for dinner and small portion size won’t cut it in these parts, no matter how fine the culinary experience may be, certainly not at this price point. Wine menu was surprisingly short for such an establishment.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

I had heard and read lot of good reviews about Artisan but never been there till last weekend. The food was good but I didn’t get the logic of it being so overpriced. I think by setting the price so high they want to force the people that they’re experiencing an extraordinary culinary phenomenon. For example I took mustard crusted Seabas. It was for sure a fine fresh fish cooked very well but still not something so extraordinary worthy of the bill I paid. Anyway if you’re ready to pay average $70 to $80 per person, visit the restaurant and you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Backtowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

First let me say my wife and I will be back!! The seared scallops with the lobster cappuccino is what we've been searching for when ordering scallops. The bisque was awesome. The braised beef short ribs. Unfortunately in our opinion we've had a better short rib at non french restaurants. Told our waitress and the manager adjusted our ticket.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank edr207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artisans also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Artisans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing