We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas group luncheon meeting...absolutely joyous!”
Review of Peli Peli

Peli Peli
Reserve with OpenTable
Peli Peli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 9,037 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Louetta
Description: Peli Peli's South African flavors, Southern Hospitality features steak, chicken and seafood from Chef Paul Friedman. Currently rated top 10 on Tripadvisor and Yelp in Houston, Peli Peli has been featured on CNBC's Restaurant Startup and the Food Network's Cutthroat Kitchen. A $6 happy hour runs Monday - Friday, 2-7pm, and features half-off cocktails, beer and glasses of wine. The award-nominated brunch runs Saturday and Sunday from 11-4pm.
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The food was "scrumdeliumptous" and the service was on point. Staff was very informative regarding South African foods and most helpful in assisting with the many choices.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Palasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelimanagement, Public Relations Manager at Peli Peli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Glad to hear you enjoyed everything, and we want to thank you for reviewing us. We hope you and your group come back and visit us soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 988 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

This was my second visit to Peli Peli. I felt I should give it another chance, but I am not impressed. I ordered the special which was the most expensive item on the menu. It was just ok. My husband and son did not like it either. It is expensive, noisy and food is not appealing.

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We always leave feeling that we have just allowed ourselves a huge treat! LOVE this restaurant, the food, and how friendly Chef Paul is. He seems to try to make everyone feel welcome.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KCSandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelimanagement, Public Relations Manager at Peli Peli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

It is amazing to hear from people that enjoy dining with us as much as you did. We are so happy that you can say you LOVE our restaurant.Thank you and we look forward to seeing you dine here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The North side location is fabulous! Excellent in every way. The Galleria location though good does not compare.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank none3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The Espetada was great so tender and all the trimmings were unique and flavorful. The service was very good and the management seemed concerned about the experience.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelimanagement, Public Relations Manager at Peli Peli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hello,
Thank you for stopping in! We're glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peli Peli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peli Peli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing