We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scent of the old.”
Review of Galvez Bar & Grill

Galvez Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Galvez Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 320 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: Galvez Bar & Grill, located in the historic Hotel Galvez, specializes in fresh, local seafood purchased at Galveston's Pier 19 and Texas regional cuisine. Diners can enjoy Texas-sized Po Boys, fresh fish served blackened, grilled and fried as well as steak and other items on its grill menu. The bar offers an extensive menu featuring slides, flatbread pizzas and prohibition inspired cocktails.
Reviewed 28 January 2018

What a fabulous place to visit. Excellent food in a atmosphere that makes you feel your back in the 20's. Visit the musuem in the basement for a history of Galveston. They also have an unbelievable buffet at Christmas, Easter and other holidays. Truly an experience you won't want to miss

Thank robertkO7164SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Public Relations Manager at Galvez Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for the glowing review of Galvez Bar and Gril. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience. And, thank you for mentioning our Hall of History. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018

After a long travel day on business, with multiple flight delays, it was really nice to sit down and relax and this was a great place to decompress from the stress of the day. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was great.

Thank Robb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Public Relations Manager at Galvez Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

We are pleased we were able to help your decompress after a long day of travel. Thank you for the kind review of Galvez Bar and Grill. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

My friend and I decided to have a couple of drinks at the Galvez Bar. We were in for a treat. Crystal was the friendliest and most accommodating bartender. Ended up having dinner at the bar also. I had a steak filet that was Great!

Thank cyndiLair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Public Relations Manager at Galvez Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for giving Galvez Bar and Grill a try. We are pleased you enjoyed the bar and the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

A group of 6 of us went to brunch on 1/13, Saturday, at 11am. We made a reservation and specifically asked when making the reservation if breakfast would still be served. We were told yes. We were offered the choice of the buffet and most of us chose it. It was the wrong choice. The buffet wasn't exactly closed, but the oatmeal was cold with no spoons for toppings, the french toast was hard and cold, the scrambled eggs had been sitting so long they were runny, and the toast choices were low. The made to order omelette was great. The servers asked how everything was and when told, did bring out fresh french toast and oatmeal.

We would have been happy to order off the menu, but were steered towards the buffet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sandralp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Public Relations Manager at Galvez Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet in the restaurant. And, we appreciate the feedback. We hope you give our Sunday Brunch a try in the future. Sunday Brunch is served weekly from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. We hope you'll give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

The prawn gumbo tasted of pure beef stock. The vegetable Napoleon had good ingredients (eggplant, portobello mushrooms, zucchini and yellow squash) but they were all undercooked and under-salted. The wine was the best part of the meal. The selection was very good. Service was friendly and efficient.

3  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Public Relations Manager at Galvez Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. Please know we appreciate your feedback and will pass this along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galvez Bar & Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galvez Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing