We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Bonanza!”
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #12 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Fantastic food, attentive service, busy with happy customers. Beignets, waffles, eggs rancheros as well as the coffee were great. Special shoutout to Yvonne... perfect waitress.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lindais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you Lindais! Great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your breakfast with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

This is a little gem with a great casual dining menu. The shrimp and cheesy grits were delicious. Service was very attentive and the restaurant is clean and tidy. We may need to come back for breakfast. We did not try a restaurant week option but they were participating in it. The parking lot is small so we have passed it in the past thinking it would be packed.

Thank LWill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you liked the shrimp and cheesy grits and that you were well taken care of. Please come back and try our breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The staff is much friendlier at the Seawall location. The food was very good. My only suggestion would be to offer a smaller bowl/cup of gumbo. The little daddy is still waaay to much.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your suggestion Carolyn! We are glad you liked the Gumbo and are hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We ate lunch here for Galveston Restaurant Week because they actually are giving a decent deal. We found that most of the restaurants were not really offering deals. I ordered the chicken and waffles which also came with a salad and dessert for $10. My husband ordered the BBQ Oyster Po Boy and cup of gumbo which also came with a salad and dessert for $10. The food was very good as always. We did have to ask for the restaurant week menu and we were told that the BBQ Oyster Po Boy was not included but then the waiter came back and told us it was. I did notice that my food sat under the heat lamp for quite a while my husband's was still being prepared. That was a little annoying but when I finally received it, it was still warm and did not taste like it had been hanging out on the counter for that long. We enjoyed eating here and will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scout223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed your lunch with us! We are glad everything was kept warm and fresh and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This was the first place we ate in Galveston. We loved the food! The service was excellent even when the place was packed with people waiting. We asked the waiter questions about the area, and he was very knowledgeable and friendly. He didn't act like we were bothering him at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank awollenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review! We are so glad you made us your first stop in Galveston and we hope you come back and see us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing