We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot”
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #9 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has an excellent breakfast menu, great service and good food. The place is very small which can lead to a waiting list. The dinner menu is ok but breakfast is there greatness...

Thank Lewis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Lewis, for this great review! We're so glad you enjoyed breakfast with us we hope you'll come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great dark roux...heated in caldrons at the bar and served very warm...with lots of seafood...Aaron is our favorite server...

Thank robgdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast here when visiting Galveston, on the plus side my omelette was very good, plenty of fillings and well cooked, on the down side the hash browns were not properly cooked and borderline raw and the pancake was underdone

ON balance it was average and we had much better breakfasts during our week in Texas

1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the Chicken and Sausage "Little Daddy" gumbo which was a pretty big bowl of tasty gumbo delight! The waitress said that the "Big Daddy" portion was 2x the size which would be too much even for me and I like to eat a lot of quantity.

My wife had the fish tacos which she very much liked. Her order came with 3 tacos: she ate 2 and i had the "extra". Good stuff.

Great casual (shorts are fine) dining experience overlooking the gulf at a reasonable price (~ $9 to $13 per dish)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much, Miles, for the excellent rating! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well well well! A good beignet place in a great vacation place. These are great beignets and hit the spot! Right on Seawall Blvd! Next to the Commodore.

Thank OneThingWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We're so glad you enjoyed some of our wonderful beignets! Hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing