We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly Good”
Review of Saltwater Grill

Saltwater Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: The Saltwater Grill is located just steps away from The Grand 1894 Opera House. Featuring an array of tantalizing fresh-from-the-grill and fresh-from-the-kettle seafood specialties, Saltwater Grill is in a class of its own when it comes to quality and attention to detail.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We have eaten there twice in the last three nights. The prices aren't bad and they have a nice menu. The service is good. The salads are huge so split one with your date.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you so much, Mark, for the great review! So glad you enjoyed our newly updated menu. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

What a disappointment. Our server, when asked her fish preference, said she'd never tasted grouper, didn't like redfish and hated scallops. Oh. Okay.
Lackluster slow service, very mediocre food...small fish portion served at room temp and pretty pricey. So many wonderful Galveston dining options - maybe we caught Saltwater on a bad Tuesday night, but we won't return.

Thank kauaiinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for bringing the details of your experience to our attention. We'd like to get more details from you as we pride ourselves on our fresh fish selections. Please contact me at your earliest convenience, Karla - karla@galvestonrestaurantgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It was a busy Saturday night, and seating was slow. No problem with that. But the noise level was deafening and made conversation impossible. Ordered fish, their specialty, and was disappointed. One dish was good, the other was not edible. Grouper was not fresh. Service was ok considering the crowd. We expected better and was sorely disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you Frank for bringing the details of your experience to our attention. We are disappointed to hear that you visit did not meet expectations. We understand about the noise level - these old buildings with cement floors tend to get a bit loud. As for your meal, we pride ourselves on our fresh fish selections so we will certainly look into any issues. If there are any other details you would like to provide, please feel free to contact me directly at Karla@galvestonrestaurantgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We visited Saltwater on a Sunday evening. No problem getting a table. My wife had a vodka martini,($9.50) and I had a double Crown Royal with 7up.($20) Crab cake appetizer($18.00) was very good. We ordered the special to share, which was snapper with crab cake stuffing.($36.00). It was fine, also. Then creme brulee and key lime pie to go. $7 each) The reason I am putting the prices, is because it is a good meal, and not cheap. That is why I am upset that our server, Robbyn H added an extra $4 to the check because we shared a meal. That is a pretty sneaky move. Tell us up front, and we will just share a plate. Or decide to pay extra. If it is restaurant policy, then the server should tell the guests up front. After such a good meal, it is a shame we left with a bad taste in our mouth!

1  Thank WMiller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review and give us your feedback. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed your meal but disappointed that the entire experience was effected negatively. Our split plate charge is included on the menu so we definitely appreciate you letting us know that perhaps we need to make it more obvious next time we print. We certainly hope that this experience will not discourage you from joining us again. We look forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Thought I would try this place for my one fancy meal while on vacation. The atmosphere was nice, service was great, and the food was good for the most part but not for the price. I had the sea scallops which came with green beans and roasted fingerling potatoes. The crusty bread that came before my entree was very good. As for my entree, the scallops were prepared well and the green beans were cooked well enough, but the potatoes were underdone. For the price, the quantity could have been larger and the potatoes should have been cooked properly. I've had better for less. This place didn't wow me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StackyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for this 4-star rating. We appreciate you bringing the details of your visit to our attention. We're thrilled you enjoyed your scallops but disappointed the sides didn't measure up to expectations. We will certainly make the kitchen staff aware and hope you'll consider joining us again the next time you're in Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltwater Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing