We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tex-Mex and margaritas in Galveston”

Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina
Ranked #32 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently had dinner at Taquilo's Cantina in Galveston and enjoyed the Tex-Mex that evening. We started with the Shrimp Besos as an appetizer and they were excellent. I then had the combo platter which had a variety of well prepared items. We also enjoyed the margaritas served. The service was very good. Overall, I would recommend Taquilo's if you are interested in a Tex-Mex dinner while in Galveston.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Robb! We are glad you liked the service and the Shrimp Besos with the Combo Platter and Margaritas! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see next time your in Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The fish and the prawn tacos were very good. They both came with excellent guacamole. The margaritas were great. Service was fast and friendly. Very pleasant place to sit.

Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Ann! We are glad you enjoyed your food and had a nice visit with us! Come as see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

This has become our go to Mexican food place (even though it’s much more Tex mex). The food is good and fresh!! We love the Queso, quesadillas, and fajitas here. The happy hour Rita’s are great as well!

Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Angie! Thank you for making us your go to Mexican food place! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Awesome taco salad! Incredible chicken quesadilla! Very good service too! Monica our server was very sweet!

Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thanks, Richard! We're thrilled you enjoyed your meal! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We sat outside on the sidewalk on a nice November afternoon and enjoyed some good food in the historic area of this wonderful city. Post Office Street was a buzz with activity and we took it all in along with nice conversation with our very friendly server. The Taquilos menu is full of Tex-Mex goodies, and for Galveston it is not overpriced. We all shared a huge plate of nachos and it was piled high and delicious. I'm ready to head back for more of the laid back fun atmosphere, and to try more off their menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrueTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and got to experience some of our Postoffice Street ambiance. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing