We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
47
7
2
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
7
2
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pad dog park concrete sites laundry facility friendly and helpful owners the river bath house wi fi nice playground good size quiet side the smoky mountains meadows campers malcolm campground camping
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Great campground, people are always friendly and accommodating. We have camped with Big Meadow for over three years and leave our camper there for storage. The grounds are always clean and well kept. The bathrooms are spotless as well as the laundry facilities. I highly recommend camping at Big Meadow. I recommend the concrete sites for long term or in rainy weather.

Room Tip: quite recommend concrete sites
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

One of the most immaculate campgrounds we have ever visited! Easy check in and extremely friendly and helpful owners. Yes there are rules but the owners work hard to keep a clean and comfortable campground. We travel in a 36' 5th wheel. We were in a site that required us to back in....no problem. Some sites are pull through. We had plenty of privacy and did not think the sites were unusually close. We have been in much tighter. We will visit this campground again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GeorgiaNana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We have camped in many campgrounds. This is by far the very best. Malcolm and Barbara were very friendly as was everyone. Had plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Make sure you have lunch at Elvira's.
Everything was clean, grounds well kept. Nice playground and splash pad. The way the pads are laid out makes each pad private, no looking into your neighbor's living room from yours. Plenty of room for opposing slides.with slides out we are 18 feet wide.
Don and Frieda, Land O Lakes FL

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank auntiemom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

This is a nice campground, however we probably won't be back for a few simple reasons. First and foremost, the riverside sites are on a road, not the river. This road is traveled by locals and most of them drive very fast. There are 2 man showers and bathrooms as well as 2 women showers and bathrooms that cover the entire campground. This is not sufficient for the number of campers when the park is full. The toilets stayed dirty a majority of the time. When the campground is full extra time should be taken by the staff to ensure restrooms are clean and supplied. The "really nice" dog park, as it was put to me, consisted of a tire partially buried in the ground and dog poop everywhere. Although the dog poop wasn't directly a staff problem, daily scooping should take place to ensure a clean dog park. The good about the park is that it is right next to the tubing activities. Close access to Wears Valley Road. Plenty of things for the kids to do. The staff was all hands on deck while camper were checking in and were very accommodating when helping campers to the site. There were more good things about the campground than bad but we probably won't be back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank josepho628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a very good time. The owners and employees are super friendly and very hard working. The campground is beautiful and very clean. Everyday we saw somebody cleaning or fixing something. My 2 year old loved the splash pad and enjoyed playing on the ship at the playground. It is nice that all the pads are on gravel or cement and we didn't have to worry about when it rained and all the mud getting into our camper. We also were able to do our laundry for a very reasonable price, which will make going home easier. We took lots of walks around and even enjoyed walking by the river. We have already talked about coming back again and hopefully bringing friends.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Willits13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews