We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
289
72
23
20
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
72
23
20
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table hot tub blue ridge dancing bear lodge gated community bedroom cabin gas grill these cabins beautiful cabin the smoky mountains views of the mountains spent a week back porch working order we've stayed family vacation bears
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Sherwood Forest Resort is very well located at the last stop light before entering the National Forest. This location makes getting into Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg as quick and easy as possible for the area. The resort itself was largely well maintained and peaceful despite construction taking place on a few of the last remaining cabins to be built. The staff of our rental company, Wyndham Vacation Rentals, were warm, welcoming, and very accommodating. This aspect of our visit gets "5" stars easily. The cabins itself, however, was a different story. While initially it appeared clean it was not and could use a more detailed cleaning. The carpet needs to be replaced with either tile or hardwood, it is disgustingly dirty and I had to throw away a pair of white socks are walking on it as they turned into black socks. Next, the odor from the toilet in the single bathroom was horrendous. I woke me up in the middle of the night to the strong smell of sewage emanating from the bathroom, which seemingly got worse from our arrival on Monday afternoon through our departure on Thursday morning. Finally, the lack of high-speed internet is shocking. The cabin has a robust cable lineup, but yet no WiFi? It's 2017, not 1987. I would bet the vast majority of people would prefer WiFi over 200 cable channels to be utilized to research potential attractions, dining options, etc. as well as purchasing tickets. So the dirty carpet, foul smell of sewage coming from the toilet, and lack of WiFi scores this particular cabin a "1." There are plenty of other cabins at SFR, so I would strongly encourage those seeking a place to stay to make this cabin your last resort in an otherwise outstanding cabin community.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Dear Brian L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay at Lance's Loft. Thank you especially for your kind words in regards to our staff. We are disappointed that you experienced issues during your visit and apologize that it impacted your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. The cabin has been scheduled for a carpet cleaning. Maintenance has contacted a plumber about the bathroom. We have passed the request for wi-fi on to the owner. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

I am going to be very fair about this review. Sherwood Forest Resort is a very pretty resort with a beautiful view which I will gladly give a five-star review. When we arrived the individuals in the office were very helpful and gave us directions to our cabin as well as promptly having repairs completed when the skimmer basket on the hot tub became loose and for that, I will give the Resort a five-star. I will also give Lance's Loft a five-star for cleanliness. Mys husband and I really enjoyed our visit to Pigeon Forge and enjoyed the view. The rocking chairs on the porch were very uncomfortable but we spent hours sitting there anyway. Just could not stay away from the beautiful view including seeing a bear and her cubs down below our cabin as well as listening to the birds, the whip-poor-will birds and the wild turkeys. However, the bed gets a zero star. The mattress is absolutely horrible. We were unable to get a good night sleep the whole time we were there and finally moved to the couch and love seat several nights in order to sleep. My suggestion is if you are staying in this cabin get a good air mattress to take because it will be better than that horrible bed. I washed clothes while there and had to bring some of them home to rewash because the washer did not get them clean, however, this a problem that I have had in other condos and cabins we have rented over the years and do not blame on the owner or Sherwood Forest Resort. Just a warning for whoever might rent the unit. The last complaint that we have and this was reported to the office is the trash that is right below the cabin porch in the back. It looked like someone dumped several bags of trash over the porch into the woods around the cabin. The lady at the office noted this and said that bears may have pulled them to that location. I am going to give the owner of the cabin and Sherwood Forest Resort a one-star for not removing them during the week we were there. Lastly, good luck watching TV. The TV is placed so high on the wall that you will hurt your neck trying to watch it. This gets a one star for being so high. We took some movies to watch but did not watch them because we continually had to look up. I understand about mounting TV's on the wall for safety reasons but this was a difficult location because the couches were too close for comfortable viewing. We did enjoy our vacation in Pigeon Forge and loved the view in Sherwood Forest Resort. I would consider staying here again because the positives do outweigh the negatives but it will be a different cabin. I do not want a repeat of the horrible mattress in Lance's Loft. Therefore, I am giving Lance's Loft cabin at Sherwood Forest Resort a three-star review. I would love to give it more but cannot based on the TV height, horrible mattress, and trash on ground below cabin. This cabin does not have wi-fi so beware if you need to be online for any reasons you will have to provide your own hot spot or wait till you are somewhere that there is wifi. Shame on the owners for not providing wifi.

Room tip: beautiful view of mountains.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melindasall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Dear melindasall,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay in Lance's Loft at Sherwood Forest Resort. Thank you so much for the more than kind review of the resort itself and the front desk staff as well as the cleaners. I am very happy to pass those words of praise on to the managers of those individuals. We will be checking on the condition of the mattresses and the rocking chairs so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for replacement. We will also have maintenance check the angles on the TV in the living area for places to remount for easier viewing. The maintenance department is working on cleanup below the cabin. WiFi has been suggested to the owner as a much needed amenity. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We rented "Just Cabin Fun" because we were looking for a large cabin that had a pool, game room, hot tub and 4 bedrooms. We were celebrating my parent's 50th anniversary, our 25th and my son and his wife's 1 year (and my other son and girlfriend dating 3 yrs) This was a great place to rent because there was so much to do in the cabin that if we didn't want to fight traffic, crowds, or rain, we had plenty of fun things to do. It was a very clean place. There were a few things that could've helped it to be better. The bathrooms were huge (which was nice) but a ton of wasted space. There was no where to set anything, very small vanity and a floor only to put things. When you are traveling, you need storage. Same went for the kitchen. All the cabinets were full of dishes so you had to put all your food on the counter, certainly could've used an inexpensive storage shelf to put things. Most of the kitchen chairs were loose and we had issues with smoke detectors going off at night. They did come and fix everything we requested. Overall a great stay with a beautiful view. We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Dear Angie T,

Congratulations on all the anniversaries! What an outstanding way to celebrate with family! We are truly honored you chose to spend this milestone with us at Just Cabin Fun. We will pass on your suggestions on storage to the owner and speak with maintenance about the kitchen chairs to make sure these issues are addressed. Guest feedback is the most important tool that we can use to improve our cabins and I wish to thank you again for taking the time to let us know. We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at blue ridge sunrise and it was absolutely fantastic!! The cabin was spotless, and looked exactly like the internet portrayed it. We will stay again. Everybody we met was very nice, and it was great every night to get away from the parkway. Close but yet far away! Perfect for a couple who wants privacy!! Only problem was the deck needed stained. Also a table to put between the chairs to put the coffee on in the morning. You will be very happy if you pick this cabin. LOVED IT

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2017

Dear Mary S,

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Blue Ridge Sunrise. We are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations and enjoyed your time with us. We will follow up with our maintenance department in regards to the stain on the deck and possibly placing a table with the chairs. We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here 4 times and it's a decent place to stay. Certain cabins have better views than others. Great place to see bears. However it was very noisy at night. They need a noise policy at night. The price of cabins are reasonable. Some cabins need to be update. The porches on the ones we've stayed at are really scary to walk on.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Dear Kera R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review on your stays at Sherwood Forest Resort. We are sorry you experienced issues with noise this time. We do ask that guests observe quiet time from 10 pm to 8 am out of courtesy for our other guests. We regret that some of our guests are less courteous than others. The decks and houses are inspected regularly, so we can assure you that while the heights might pose a problem for some, the structures are sound. We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews