We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
10
12
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
12
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Melba Lodge and the rooms are cosy and in keeping with the atmosphere of the Lodge. The bed was huge and very comfy with crisp, clean linen. The bathroom, although not large, had a corner spa with the shower overhead. However, the walls of the rooms are paper thin and you can hear just about everything. I agree with other reviewer that there needs to be some sort of sensor lighting from the carpark at the back to the back door. The gardens are beautiful, the service was great. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a small family owned property with a most welcoming atmosphere. The hostess was not available to cook on the morning we were there but her husband did his best to accommodate our desire for something not normally served in Australia. Just a delightful man. The rooms are small, very tidy, and very clean. We would gladly go back. :)

Room Tip: These people will make you feel like family.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonniemreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here overnight 9 Dec as attending a nearby wedding....handy location.....checkin was smooth, room tho small was fine for an overnight stop....smallish stand alone wardrobe, tv sitting on top had great reception, bathroom was compact but shower was great and plenty of hot water (a must)....QS bed was very comfy....parking at the back of property was ok, however I'd suggest that the owners need to trim the extremely overgrown shrubs/trees overhanging the driveway as cars could get easily scratched.......we were late back from wedding and unfortunately our key only gave us access via the back door....and trying to tiptoe down this 'overgrown' driveway and in complete darkness on uneven gravel was not easy....(how bout a sensor light for guests).....breakfast was in a largish area at the end of hallway, a number of tables to choose from. -had choice of fresh fruits and yoghurt, cereals, juice.....and a hot meal......unfortunately we weren't given a 'choice' of anything hot......I asked about bacon/eggs and was told "how would u like them" and that was it......I am sure I saw other guests who had tomato, baked beans on they're plate (apologies if i'm wrong david).....perhaps a small 'menu' of options would have been a good idea........we assumed it was 'help yourself' at b/fast...there was no sign or anyone around to say "go for it' or 'wait'!!! coffee was plunger, plenty of jams to choose from....It would also have been nice to hear a "good morning' or "hello, how are you", rather than just nothing from the owners.....perhaps some background music as ourselves and guests seemed to be conscious of the 'silence' and therefore whispering to each other..... being picky perhaps.....Mmmm...... I'd stay at melba lodge again, tho keep in mind you are on the main highway, so there will be traffic noise..........

Room Tip: Depends on your price range.....we got a good deal of room/breakfast for approx $150...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bally223, Owner at Melba Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Sorry it took so long to work out how to reply! Thank you very much for your feedback, we have trimmed the hedges right back, you were so right about them being overgrown, I'm so sorry. Lights are in also. Our normal routine at breakfast is to greet and explain all the breakfast options etc, I can't explain why we failed with you, so very sorry, I have been much better since your feedback! We hope you do come back, we'll have a bottle of wine for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Melba Lodge. The property is well maintained and spacious. The rooms are nice, clean in old style furniture and so is the bathroom.

I'd surely suggest anyone to stay there.

Cheers,
Roberto.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at Melba Lodge on 9 Oct 2011 and it was great value for money. David was very pleasant and a good breakfast cook. The premises are clean and comfortable. Would be happy to stay there again if we were down that way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvaCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews