We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
57
63
34
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
63
34
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra valley outdoor playground great pub kids meals first floor pub meal old world charm large servings sitting room lovely old hotel specials board local park onion rings calamari beer garden sunday lunch service was friendly and efficient
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve always been aware of this pub and was happy when my employers booked me in for a stopover. Established in 1888 it would have done a brisk trade as a stopover for miners on their way to and from the goldfields. And you can feel the history. Staff very friendly and room clean comfortable. The risotto I was served in the restaurant for dinner was the best I’ve had in a decade. Superb job you lot. Keep it up! And thanks. J

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank jamescX8648BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGGrandHotel, Manager at Yarra Valley Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi James C,

Thank you for your great review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel.
We have passed your comments onto our staff.
We hope you will visit again soon.

Regards,
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

This was a special girls day out and the weather was true Melbourne winter.
From the moment we stepped in the front door, we felt we were at home.
The fireplaces created such a warm and inviting atmosphere and we were delighted to be seated in the "Snug Room". I ordered the lamb shank pie and it was absolutely delicious. My friend ordered the veggie burger and she was thrilled with it. all enjoyed with a delicious glass of local Pinot.
It is so refreshing to be able to enjoy history, comfort, great food and excellent staff on our day out. I really love this place, they get it right. Keep up the great work, we shall certainly return..

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GinaDonazzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGGrandHotel, Manager at Yarra Valley Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear GinaDonazzan,

Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to read that you found a 'Snug' place to escape the outside elements.
We have passed your comments onto our chef and very much look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Came here for a birthday lunch and the food and wine was very nice.
We were there a couple of hours and had a nice spot in the dining area.
The place was beyond busy, the line to order food was literally out of the door.
We were having a good time so waiting for food wasn’t too bad.
I had the lamb shank pie and the bone was literally sticking out of the top.
My partner got the dips (gluten free version) which came out with a bowl of little olives which looked like beans - very nice.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank HerbieErbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGGrandHotel, Manager at Yarra Valley Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear HerbieErbs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your Shank Pie, it is becoming one of our iconic dishes.
Your feedback has been passed onto our team.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Food average and no kids in formal dining but iPhones are allowed by the 4 couples that were there! We were crammed into the public area. Expensive for the taste but meals are large. We could of whipped up better at home. Might be good for a beer!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGGrandHotel, Manager at Yarra Valley Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Katrina B,

We were sorry to hear about your experience. Our Grand Hotel offers dining experiences catering for couples, families and those passing through for a casual bar snack. Our family bistro, deck and beer garden is designed to be suitable for large groups and families as it is close to the playground and live entertainment. We pride ourselves and are well known for our quality of food and size. Please contact us by calling reception so that we can help make this better for you.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We visited with friends and stayed in the Managers House. It was clean and warm and for the most part the amenities were OK (if dated). Disappointingly one of the couches was really old and tatty and too uncomfortable to sit on. When we moved the cushions, we found quite a lot of old food underneath which does make you wonder about how well it is all cleaned. The breakfast was a pretty basic continental one and although they had a coffee machine, there were no instructions and people were having trouble working out how to use it. Unfortunately their toaster was awful. Very old and very difficult to figure out how it worked - leading to lots of burnt toast and wastage. It would be such a cheap and easy fix to put a good toaster in and would have made for much happier guests. Pub was pretty standard with some really good entertainment on the Saturday night.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGGrandHotel, Manager at Yarra Valley Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Susan S,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay in the Managers House. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
Thank you for bringing the comfort level of the couch to our attention, we will look into this right away. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast for all our guests as advertised upon booking. The Dualit toaster is a retro iconic style of the highest quality and standard. We have taken note regarding the pod coffee machine instructions and have passed your comments onto our team. Please contact reception to discuss your experience further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews