We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Roseneath Villa B&B(Point Lonsdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
43
56
22
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
56
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseacross the roaddining roomlight houseold world charmold stylerooms are cleanfamily roomhosts suetable tennis tablefriendly servicebuffet breakfastguest kitchena great stayfree nibblessmall kitchenettestep back in time
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

What a great spot. Clean, comfortable rooms suitable for couples and families. Sue and Peter were the hosts with the mosts, though a special mention to Jason who seemed to be everywhere at once and who obviously wrote the book on customer service. The real highlight though is breakfast, not because the meal will appear on Masterchef ( too tasty for that ! ) but the dining room has a feel to it that makes you think you have dropped through the looking glass into a previous time. Simply, an outstanding stay... could not recommend it any higher.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrKiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks Wayne, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The dining room is the thing that sold us when we came to look at the business it just feels welcoming I think.
We are so lucky to have found Jason he is real gem! He works in the rooms, the kitchen and the dining room. His attention to detail is amazing and he thinks ahead. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Both Sue and Peter were wonderful hosts. The hotel was affordable, clean and the Captains Cabin was great. Good views to the light house. A really lovely place to stay anytime of the year. We decided to eat in and Sue was a wonderful chef. Yummo. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank redvfr750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you but I can't pretend to be a chef. I learnt to cook with my Grandmothers, one lived with us. The other one I spent many happy hours in the farm kitchen with helping to cook for the shearers. The Lighthouse is an icon of the Bay and until recently was still manned. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Good atmosphere,
friendly intimate service, great location closeby the beach. lighthouse and the jetty
Clean and comfortable
Good delicious food,
Thank you for everything
Will surely return back in the coming time

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kandelbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in the blues train
It's delightful with its charm . Older style rooms and bathrooms but are lovely and clean .
Great customer service super friendly staff.
free nibbles whilst you enjoy a drink prior to leaving for blues train .
Breakfast was really good even though it was busy and we had to wait for hot food to come out it was hot and fresh worth the wait and staff are conscientious and polite
Will be back it was a fun stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The Point Lonsdale Guest House was the original accommodation for the lighthouse keeper and his family. Built in the 1800s with a complimentary additional section built in the 1960s, the rooms are clean and tidy although not large by today's standard. There is a very pleasant older style dining room that serves inexpensive breakfast daily, and evening meals through the week. The guest house is within easy walking distance of the town, the beach and the the lighthouse. The owners a very friendly and only too willing to help with any enquiry. Recommended for a relaxing break.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews