We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lonsdale Views(Point Lonsdale)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseneath Villa B&B(Point Lonsdale)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
43
56
22
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
56
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseacross the roaddining roomlight houseold world charmold stylehosts suefriendly servicebuffet breakfastguest kitchena great stayfree nibblessmall kitchenettestep back in timecouples and familiesfawlty towerstennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We had a wedding in Ocean Grove and found Pt Lonsdale Guesthouse a great location close by to stay. The guesthouse is a typical old style beach accommodation with communal dinning rooms etc. The room was comfortable and the bathroom, while small, was also well equipped. Ventilation in the room in summer would be an issue as you cannot lock the wire doors and so would have to close the solid doors and there is no air conditioning only a fan. But it is across the road from the beach and just below the lighthouse. Good value for beach side accommodation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RosewallWoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Thrilled that you liked our Guesthouse and our fabulous location. I am concerned that the wire door could not be locked. I am not sure what room you were in but i will chase it up and rectify that this week. I thought I had all that covered. Many thanks for telling us. Many thanks for staying with us. Regards Sue and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Looked great, somewhere with character. However wouldn't put up with the sarcastic owner for a second longer.
Never been told some-one can see you in the shower before.

Single room had thin walls, could hear the next rooms TV, toilet and coughing.

Not a great experience.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
Thank livh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay.
We have 2 rooms upstairs in the Guesthouse that have small windows in the showers that you can see the lighthouse through. The joke about the lighthouse came from one of the guests who always book one of these 2 rooms. She was saying she had been in them so often that she now waves to the lighthouse keeper when she is in the shower. I can assure you no-one can see you in the shower, the comment was meant as a joke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We had a family suite in the motel section. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom modern and adequate. The rooms however were very small. The main room had a fridge and a kettle etc and a table with two chairs but no place to hang clothes. There was a cupboard in the other room however but no chairs or table. The walls were very thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the next room and the corridor. The suite was perfectly adequate for a night but I would not have wanted to be there any longer. I was surprised that wifi was not free although we were not concerned about no having it for a night. The position is great however and although we did not use them, the kitchen and barbecue area looked very good.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandDeborahTedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Yes you are correct the wardrobe is in the second bedroom, however there are also some hooks and hangers in the main bedroom. There is only 1 table in the room. I am concerned that you thought you had to pay for wi-fi, everyone is entitled to 2 hours (logged in time) with every booking and in the off peak times we are happy to extend it.

Glad you liked the Kitchen and BBQ area. Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Beautiful old guest house built in 1884 with lots of original features, like the front 'parlour' and the grand dining room open to all guests to enjoy at their leisure. There is also a kitchen for self catering near the swimming pool with a nice garden and plenty of out door furniture. We stayed in the motel section; in a family suite, which was spotlessly clean, comfy beds, everything you needed supplied and the hospitality from the staff could not be bettered. The optional full breakfast was amazing and this included the continental breakfast selection as well.
A very memorable experience !

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripview, Owner at Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Margaret we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and of course the Blues Train.
You are correct there is not as much to do in the winter but with a jacket on the walks along the promenade are amazing, the sea is beautiful in winter. It is also a good time to do some of the wineries and restaurants that have the open fires. Of course there is our Christmas in July Package! Many thanks for your review - Sue and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Lovely old fashioned guest house at Point Lonsdale, easy access by bus from Geelong had a package deal also for the Bluestrain which was well worth it. The owners brother and sister-in-law stepped into look after the guest house and visitors and they made you feel very welcome, free nibbles before being picked up my mini bus to go to BluesTrain at Queenscliff, and free pickup afterwards at 11.30pm.
Lovely hot cooked breakfast for $10 or continental breakfast included. Easy walking distance to shopping centre and walk all the Esplanade and also to see the historic lighthouse and jetty . Room very clean and tidy and still modern even though the guest house is over 100 yrs old and access to outside yard, pool and tennis areas.
I had no car but Bus service to get you to Ferry at Queenscliff and access to catch ferry to Sorrento also. lovely in the warmer weather but probably not a lot to do in the cold winter months.

Room Tip: Guest house has 23 rooms there is no lift so if you have trouble climbing stairs, ask for ground level room, which are big and spacious and reasonable bathroom, new TV and most rooms look outside to lovely garden area or swimming pool, queen size bed nice and comfortable and a electric blanket in the colder months, with a smaller room heater
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Croozin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews