We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault them. Highly recommended.”

TarraWarra Estate Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$55
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Like the gallery, the restaurant is reasonably small (seats maybe 40 - 50 people) but one of the most enjoyable winery restaurants I've visited.
Because it's small you might want to book ahead. Two of us had to wait about 30 / 40 minutes which worked out well as it gave us time to wander through the gallery.
They have a set menu on weekends - we chose the two course menu with an entree and main and added in a side salad and two glasses of wine (total $150). Food was superb - interesting and bursting with flavour. Complementary wine tasting at the cellar door if you're eating at the restaurant!
Staff were an absolute delight without being overbearing. The menu didn't look like it was particularly suitable for children but there were young families dining in during our visit.
It's cosy with a fireplace, great views and an equally great atmosphere. Nothing about the venue is overdone or 'showy' but speaks of style and comfort.
Looking forward to visiting again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank megthemooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely, detailed feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much! Also, thank you for recommending to readers to make a reservation - we do get very busy! Thanks again and hope to see you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

My friends and I usually have lunch at this restaurant when visiting an exhibition at the beautiful museum and we always loved it. We decided to start with a main course ($34 for potato-pasta, and both other mains $ 39 for lamb and the other one chicken, together with a delicious pinot noir) to save space for dessert. What a disappointment ! although the food was excellent, the portions were so small, it was not funny. We had to go slowly to eat 4 mouthfuls of meat or pasta. We decided to have dessert somewhere else and we wont come back anymore. Sorry !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martineC962YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I do take your comments on board and will raise them with the chef. It is a shame that you did not raise your disappointment with one of the team on the day. I am certain we would have been able to find a solution that would have enabled you to have enjoyed your visit more. I am also happy to discuss further to see if we can encourage your to return, should you wish to give us that opportunity. Please feel free to contact me dfraser@tarrawarra.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic experience at TarraWarra estate. Wandered through the art gallery and enjoyed the current showing. Great vistas. Had a tasting at the cellar door with a charcuterie plate. Excellent tasting and service. Great recommendation by Yarra Gables motel.

Thank Clarke-Greenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback! Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great place for some wine tasting. It costs $5 for 5 tastings which you get back if you buy a bottle. The design and aesthetics of this Winery are beautiful. We really enjoyed the Barbera wine and the Rosè. Pinot is also good. The restaurant looked amazing but we didn't stop for lunch. The art museum also looked interesting but $10 cover charge.

Thank paulepopstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back to enjoy the restaurant in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Were expecting duck meat but were served sawdust. Seriously?? A better description would have helped us to sway away from this selection. So disappointed and we won't be back.

Thank Spomenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. I think that this is a case of personal taste rather than the dish being at fault. If you would have shared your comments with the team on the day, perhaps we could have done something for you so that you left with a positive impression. Sadly you didn't and this is an opportunity missed by both sides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TarraWarra Estate Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to TarraWarra Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing