We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend away”

TarraWarra Estate Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$55
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic experience at TarraWarra estate. Wandered through the art gallery and enjoyed the current showing. Great vistas. Had a tasting at the cellar door with a charcuterie plate. Excellent tasting and service. Great recommendation by Yarra Gables motel.

Thank Clarke-Greenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback! Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great place for some wine tasting. It costs $5 for 5 tastings which you get back if you buy a bottle. The design and aesthetics of this Winery are beautiful. We really enjoyed the Barbera wine and the Rosè. Pinot is also good. The restaurant looked amazing but we didn't stop for lunch. The art museum also looked interesting but $10 cover charge.

Thank paulepopstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back to enjoy the restaurant in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Were expecting duck meat but were served sawdust. Seriously?? A better description would have helped us to sway away from this selection. So disappointed and we won't be back.

Thank Spomenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. I think that this is a case of personal taste rather than the dish being at fault. If you would have shared your comments with the team on the day, perhaps we could have done something for you so that you left with a positive impression. Sadly you didn't and this is an opportunity missed by both sides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We visited with friends this week, and thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting. Lunch was excellent, food superb, serice excellent and then visited the magnificent Art museum. This is a credit to all concerned, and a must see on your next visit to the Yarra Valley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you very much for your comments! I agree, our venue definitely is a must see in the Yarra Valley! I do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Tarrawarra Estate yesterday for a Cellar Door tasting and meal and we absolutely could not fault the entire experience.

Right from our initial greeting the service was impeccable. Frank at the Cellar Door had brilliant knowledge, and the 2014 and 2015 wines we tried were delightful. We were regretfully conservative with our purchases and should have bought more! The modern décor, polished concrete floors, light timbers and overall ambiance of the Cellar Door is first class and very inviting. It would be a sensational option for a wedding or corporate event.

Through to the restaurant and yet again, this did not disappoint! The restaurant staff were highly attentive and responsive, as well as super pleasant and friendly at all times. Upon recommendation, we opted for the three-course fine dining experience for $70 ph and every single morsel of food was delicious.

From scallops and brioche for snacks, spanner crab and squid to start, lamb and cornfed chicken as mains and whipped yoghurt and soft chocolate for dessert – the presentation and taste of the food were of a truly excellent quality.

We were seated by the window and treated to sweeping views of the vineyards. The modern fit out of the restaurant coupled with a cosy fireplace provided a perfect atmosphere for a cold Winter’s day.

As previously mentioned, we could not fault our visit and simply cannot wait to return to Tarrawarra. It’s definitely worth the drive and a must do if you are looking for a fine dining experience in the Valley with stunning surrounds, gorgeous architecture, and service and quality to match.

1  Thank ShanJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and I will ensure that all of the team concerned are given your positive comments. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TarraWarra Estate Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to TarraWarra Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing