We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in the Yarra Valley”

TarraWarra Estate Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$52
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We visited with friends this week, and thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting. Lunch was excellent, food superb, serice excellent and then visited the magnificent Art museum. This is a credit to all concerned, and a must see on your next visit to the Yarra Valley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you very much for your comments! I agree, our venue definitely is a must see in the Yarra Valley! I do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Tarrawarra Estate yesterday for a Cellar Door tasting and meal and we absolutely could not fault the entire experience.

Right from our initial greeting the service was impeccable. Frank at the Cellar Door had brilliant knowledge, and the 2014 and 2015 wines we tried were delightful. We were regretfully conservative with our purchases and should have bought more! The modern décor, polished concrete floors, light timbers and overall ambiance of the Cellar Door is first class and very inviting. It would be a sensational option for a wedding or corporate event.

Through to the restaurant and yet again, this did not disappoint! The restaurant staff were highly attentive and responsive, as well as super pleasant and friendly at all times. Upon recommendation, we opted for the three-course fine dining experience for $70 ph and every single morsel of food was delicious.

From scallops and brioche for snacks, spanner crab and squid to start, lamb and cornfed chicken as mains and whipped yoghurt and soft chocolate for dessert – the presentation and taste of the food were of a truly excellent quality.

We were seated by the window and treated to sweeping views of the vineyards. The modern fit out of the restaurant coupled with a cosy fireplace provided a perfect atmosphere for a cold Winter’s day.

As previously mentioned, we could not fault our visit and simply cannot wait to return to Tarrawarra. It’s definitely worth the drive and a must do if you are looking for a fine dining experience in the Valley with stunning surrounds, gorgeous architecture, and service and quality to match.

1  Thank ShanJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and I will ensure that all of the team concerned are given your positive comments. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We went to Tarrawarra to view the relatively new wine tasting cave, try the 2015 wines, have lunch and attend a specific art function (Dobell) at the gallery. It had been 18 months since our last visit. The tasting facilities are really well presented, roomy and run efficiently. The staff were knowledgable and helpful. The restaurant was also friendly and efficient. We both had the duck "ham" for starters, followed by the barramundi. The presentation of the duck was unusual and it was tasty. The barramundi was nicely and delicately cooked, although we thought it would have benefitted from a touch of seasoning or perhaps herbal influence to give it a lift. Surroundings were pleasant - we had a window seat looking towards the hills and there was an open fire, welcome on a chilly Yarra day. Tarrawarra is a good "combo" destination, combining wine sampling, lunch and art.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Walaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We dined here as we had been visiting the Tarrawarra Museum of Art. We were seated promptly and given menu and wine list but had a very long wait before a drink order was taken; thereafter the service was efficient. Main meals of Duck and Barramundi did not disappoint and were appealing to the eye as well as the palate. Servings very small and need a side dish; wine servings on the generous side. Excellent coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have passed your comments to Troy and his team and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent venue, outstanding views, maitre d' & wait staff definitely not up to the task, ordered 2 entrees & fish for mains. The fish was very nice but definitely needed the addition of a side dish - which should have been suggested by the waitstaff. The entree pictured below was a total disappointment in terms of presentation, texture and flavour. All in all, an experience we aren't eager to repeat.

1  Thank bourke28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F, Manager at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience at our venue. I would like to learn more about your experience to find out what actually went wrong during your visit as you have made comments with regards to the team not being up to the task. Without specific feedback it is hard for us to pinpoint what went wrong on your visit and learn from your comments. If you could please contact me on dfraser@tarrawarra.com.au to discuss further, I would appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TarraWarra Estate Restaurant also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to TarraWarra Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;