We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bourne Valley Inn

Bourne Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Once a charming coaching inn, the Bourne Valley Inn in Hampshire is an award-winning pub and restaurant with accommodation, blessed with a rustic location. Boasting classic British cuisine, composed of local and seasonal ingredients, there is also a bar offering local ales, good wine and a tale or two from the locals. Given the lake- and river-rich surrounding countryside, local fish is prepared on site for unparalleled freshness. The restaurant has recently received 1 Rosette from the AA. The tastefully refurbished barn offers an elegant private event location, catering for all, from understated parties to lavish weddings.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have already written a negative review for this place and rather surprisingly (or maybe not) it has disappeared! Very disappointing stay. Photos on website paint a much nicer picture than reality. Dark, dingy room, tatty, threadbare carpets, no tea in room and no milk. Apparently we should have been told at check in that we needed milk and we weren’t. Asked for it the next night and was given milk in a jug in a bowl of ice which we had to put on bathroom floor as too warm in bedroom and no shelf in bathroom. No cereal choice for breakfast other than granola and porridge. Poached egg rock hard. Given wrong time for breakfast. No sheet on bed. Only 2 coat hangers. Not worth the money.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lizaloohuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Really nice! Been here a couple of times this summer and both times have really enjoyed it. Beautiful surroundings, lovely food and amazing outdoor facilities. The playground is a wonderful addition that helps keep my daughter’s boredom at bay. Worth travelling to and will definitely return, thanks guys!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 765SaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

It was a lovely Friday evening and we fancied a nice country pub, never been here before so thought we would give it a try. So glad we did, the garden is so inviting, we were lucky to sit in a pod that is so nice with lights and a heater. All the staff were very nice and helpful and it was great that they were in the garden a lot so you could order drinks etc. The food was very nice too and so well presented. Can't wait to go back with friends.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2021

I had come into the bourne valley inn and was warmly greatest by Loretta. She had given such great customer service throughout the whole dining experience. Will definitely be coming here again and being more friends and family, Loretta really made it such an effortless trip!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 447izzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch in the garden here today. They have transformed the outside eating experience during lock down and it is now fabulous !! The covid management steps were very good and we both enjoyed the pork ribeye ' smokey joe'which was faultless. We'll be back!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bourne Valley Inn also viewed

Hurstbourne Tarrant, Andover
 

Been to Bourne Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.