We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise near Avoca and gracious host”

Blue Pyrenees Estate
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Avoca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Savour the entire Blue Pyrenees unique experience and immerse yourself in its beauty; relish the mouth-watering menu options and choose from an array of dishes, gourmet platters and superbly matched wines. Dine inside or alfresco or catch up with family in the extensive picnic and BBQ areas or over a game of petanque on the piste.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We hadn't planned to go wine tasting - we were in the area working, and stopped in to request access to the winery roads, which was granted so long as we kept to the roads and stayed out of the vines. On the way back we still had ten minutes before closing so we decided to stop in an buy some wine for dinner, not expecting to be able to fit in any tastings. Our host wouldn't hear of us going without tasting some wine, all of which was delightful - so we had a nice chat, shared some great wine; left with some wine for that night and joined up to the club - so more excellent wine is on its way.

Thank Malimover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess A, Manager at Blue Pyrenees Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi there,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and thank-you most importantly for stopping by our cellar door! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will enjoy your wine club membership too. Enjoy!

All the best,

Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Yet again you never cease to amaze us. Your very knowledgeable and friendly staff, your beautiful wines and sensational share platter. Thank you for another superb afternoon

Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess A, Manager at Blue Pyrenees Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Gillian,

Thank-you for your review and positive feedback. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the visit (hopefully as much as we enjoyed having you!). We'll look forward to hosting you at our cellar door again in the future.

All the best,

Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Our first stop for the day with 3 other couples. The customer service was terrible. He was very un-accommodating that we wanted to try different wines at different stages, to the extent that he ignored and did not serve one of our friends. The wine is ok, but the experience was not. Plenty of other wineries to try. I would not return

1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess A, Manager at Blue Pyrenees Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi Danielle,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very surprised at the unsatisfactory experience that you had at our cellar door. As you will see from the other reviews on this page, this is very unusual. Providing great customer service is something that we value very highly at Blue Pyrenees Estate. Would you be so kind as to send me an email at tess.astbury@bluepyrenees.com.au so that I can get a few more details regarding your visit?

Many thanks,

Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This cellar door was quite busy. Set on a hill, it is a barn like structure inside. At one end is the tasting bar, the other L shaped end has tables for meals. Hot and cold beverages are available. We had a deavonshire tea, really delicious. Wine staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the wines they presented at the bar. Wines can be purchased. Local jarred produce is on display and can be purchased along with T-shirts displaying the Winery logo.

1  Thank Gretchen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess A, Manager at Blue Pyrenees Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Gretchen,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review. It was a pleasure having you at our cellar door and we're so glad that you enjoyed the visit (especially Leonie's scones—yum!). We hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,

Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

I tasted some fantastic wines at this winery. The Sauvignon Blanc was one of the smoothest that I've tried and they also had a fantastic sparkling Shiraz. My server had a great understanding of the wines and all of the wines that he picked for me to try were delightful. On the way out one of the employees had a bit of a joke with me regarding the sparkling shiraz and from what i saw of the other employees they were all quite pleasant too. Definitely don't miss this winery if you're in the Avoca region.

Thank CharlieHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess A, Manager at Blue Pyrenees Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Charlie,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed the wines. The Sauvignon Blanc is a little different to the commercial styles that most people are familiar with, so it's a nice one to try.

We very much hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,

Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Pyrenees Estate also viewed

 

Been to Blue Pyrenees Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing