We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Smokehouse Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Wow it is wonderful, I stayed at the ajoining hotel which was also great. The food was excellent, nice friendly people. Clean and it has a store which has every kind offood you might be looking for such as jams, preserves, breads etc..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

richardk1969, thanks so much for your comments and your 5 Star Rating, we appreciate your business and your comments. Come see us again when you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

This is a cool place to eat and shop. The buffet didn't look too great but we ordered off the menu twice and I was very pleased. But the ribs were the best I've ever eaten and when they offer you a bite on the way to be seated...take them up on it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sbuck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

sbuck2013, thanks so much for your 5 Star rating! Wow, the Ribs must have been good! We appreciate your comments and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

I don’t write reviews.Untill now. We stoped there Memorial Day evening coming back from the renaissance festival near Franklin Tn. Iv always heard great things about the place. The food was terrible! We had the buffet. There wasn’t one thing on there that I liked. The salad bar had very few choices and the dressing was so watered down it went straight to the bottom of the plate.All of the food ( fried chicken, pot roast, mashed potatoes,and gravy) Had a strange tangy taste to it.Even the ice cream was too sweet! I didn’t eat a third of it.That says it all because I am s big woman. I like food. I like to eat. But not there, not again .

Thank cleegrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Cleegrim, so sorry that we did not satisfy your needs or taste on Memorial Day, we apologize for your inconvenience. I don't know what the problem was at the time of your visit, but we apologize for not measuring up. Everyone has off moments, I guess this was one of ours. Thanks for stopping and for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Free fudge sample with meal. Lots of unusual jelly flavors, taffy flavors. Kinda old country store merchandise. Inventory appeared a bit low. Lots of antiques mixed in. Player piano, music museum and other surprises.

1  Thank Patti Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Patti, thanks for your review and we always appreciate your business. Hope you can stop in and see us again on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain. On your next trip, plan to stay over in one of our cozy Getaway Cabins, see our free music show, and visit our wonderful South Cumberland State Park. Lots to do and see here on the South Cumberland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

This must have been the place Cracker Barrel visited before they launched. Old times, smelling of smoked meats and loaded with country cooking. We did the $13 lunch buffet which had 3 meats and plenty of food. Don’t be scared of the xxx bbq sauce, on the thin side. Store is full of antiques,hard to know what’s for sale and what’s for show. Parking for RVs.

Thank Patti Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Patti, thanks so much for your 4 Star Review and for your comments, we appreciate your business! We don't try to burn customers up with having the hottest BBQ sauce, but we do have some pickles with Ghost Peppers in them that will definitely register on your hotter scale! We appreciate your time to do a review, and for stopping in to visit with us at the Smoke House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smokehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing